Children's Book Reviews (page 6)

BABY BEAR'S BOOK OF TINY TALES by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"The innocence and gentle tone of these 'Tiny Tales' pay homage to the original Little Bear by Else Holmelund Minarik but without the memorable wit of Maurice Sendak's illustrations. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Somewhat longer than most early readers but not quite a chapter book, McPhail's latest offering is distinguished by an old-fashioned sweetness. Read full book review >
HOW MAMAS LOVE THEIR BABIES by Juniper Fitzgerald
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2018

"Not for motherless kids—but otherwise, amazingly inclusive. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This third-wave-feminist text is illustrated by photo collages of human mothers loving their children. Read full book review >

YODEL THE YEARLING by Mary Holland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"A nonfiction introduction to black bear yearlings for the youngest children. (Informational picture book. 3-8)"
An introduction to black bear yearlings from nature photographer/author Holland. Read full book review >
OLIVER'S OTTER PHASE by Lisa Connors
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"Deftly capitalizing on children's predilection for imaginative play, this book neatly packs a solid informational punch. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Protagonist Oliver, a biracial boy, decides he is an otter. Read full book review >
MAGGIE, ALASKA'S LAST ELEPHANT by Jennifer Keats Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"A solid if not stellar addition to a growing picture-book genre. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
In this true story, the African elephant Maggie languishes in an Alaskan zoo until she is transported to the Performing Animal Welfare Society's facility in California. Read full book review >

THE LIZARD LADY by Jennifer Keats Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"A glimpse of science in the field for early readers. (map, learning activities) (Nonfiction. 5-8)"
On a tiny island near St. Croix, Dr. Nicole Angeli searches for critically endangered ground lizards. Read full book review >
DEAR KOMODO DRAGON by Nancy Kelly Allen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"Peppered with childlike humor and told from a kid's perspective, this book is both enjoyable and informative for budding wildlife conservationists. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little girl has an unusual pen pal—a Komodo dragon. As they exchange letters, she learns about this endangered species and is spurred to action. Read full book review >
ANIMAL EARS by Mary Holland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"A fascinating look at animals' varied ears. (Nonfiction. 3-7)"
A look at ears joins Holland's other books on animal eyes, legs, mouths, and tails. Read full book review >
COLORS WITH LADYBUG by Dawn Sirett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Unremarkable but adequate. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A cast of friendly bugs and animals leads Little Ladybug to a rainbow's worth of shiny new boots. Read full book review >
PORTLY PIG by Nosy Crow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"While the writing is not as whimsical as in predecessors Cuddly Cow and Higgly Hen (both 2017), the prospect of pushing buttons will make this a toddler crowd pleaser. (Board book. 1-3)"
Portly Pig is much too clean and searches for the perfect muddy pool. Read full book review >
THE BEE BOOK by Charlotte  Milner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Though low on frills, as solid an introduction for the age range as can be found in print. (Informational picture book. 4-10)"
A comprehensive, elementary-level introduction to the honeybee. Read full book review >
THE SONG OF SEVEN by Tonke Dragt
by Tonke Dragt, illustrated by Tonke Dragt, translated by Laura Watkinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"It's not for every reader, but the slow reveals will keep the pages turning for fans of Elizabeth Enright and E. Nesbit. (Mystery. 10-15)"
A young schoolteacher's drawn into a conspiracy to free an orphan and discover a treasure. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >