Children's Book Reviews (page 9)

ANNIE B., MADE FOR TV by Amy Dixon
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Readers graduating from Junie B. to lengthier stories will find a new book-friend in Annie B. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Can "almost-always" best friends get through a rough patch to become "always-always" best friends? Read full book review >
JUST UNDER THE CLOUDS by Melissa Sarno
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Troubling, affecting, and ultimately uplifting, from a promising debut novelist. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Life is not going well for Cora. Read full book review >

THE HAUNTED SERPENT by Dora M. Mitchell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes). (Suspense. 8-12)"
Ghosts and zombies and boa constrictors, oh my! Read full book review >
THE SHADOW THIEVES by Alexandra Ott
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A not-to-be-missed sequel marked by action, mystery, lively dialogue, and steady character growth. (Fiction. 8-13)"
The sequel to Rule for Thieves (2017) finds recovering thief Alli Rosco struggling to stay on the straight and narrow as she settles into a new life with her long-lost older brother. Read full book review >
THE ADVENTURES OF A GIRL CALLED BICYCLE by Christina Uss
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Readers will eagerly join Bicycle and 'pedal headfirst' into this terrific adventure, which is chock-full of heart and humor. (map) (Fabulism. 8-12)"
Twelve-year-old Bicycle secretly takes off from Washington, D.C., on her steadfast bike, Clunk, and heads to San Francisco by herself to find her bike-racing hero, Zbig—and, hopefully, her first real friend. Read full book review >

THE FRAME-UP by Wendy McLeod MacKnight
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"For anyone who's wondered about the people inside the frames. (gallery map, afterword) (Fantasy/mystery. 9-12)"
A girl in a painting and a boy visiting the gallery she hangs in foil art thieves. Read full book review >
THE SEISMIC SEVEN by Katie Slivensky
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Overall, an engaging adventure with a high-stakes plot and a timely message about preserving the environment. (author's note, glossary) (Adventure. 8-12)"
Seven kids are in for an explosive summer adventure that might be their last. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Even readers who are not sports enthusiasts will appreciate Long's upbeat account of finding confidence in the water and in life. (Memoir. 8-14)"
In a series of "moments," Paralympic swimmer Long describes how she became "the second-most decorated Paralympian of all time." Read full book review >
THE CARDBOARD KINGDOM by Chad Sell
Kirkus Star
edited by Chad Sell, illustrated by Chad Sell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have for any graphic-novel collection. (Graphic fantasy. 9-13)"
Comics creator and illustrator Sell teams up with 10 different authors to create an extraordinary linked anthology, seamlessly interweaving stories of unabashed joy and friendship. Read full book review >
OTIS AND WILL DISCOVER THE DEEP by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Rosenstock and Roy's collaboration celebrates scientific teamwork and an exciting first in deep-sea exploration. (author's note, illustrator's note, historical note, sources) (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
Otis Barton and Will Beebe, unified in their scientific curiosity about the deep sea, team up to innovate the 5,000-pound bathysphere, making history in 1930 with their initial 800-foot dive. Read full book review >
BRIANNA BRIGHT, BALLERINA KNIGHT by Pam Calvert
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"For those who prefer their princesses brave and perfectly pretty. (brief glossary of ballet and fencing terms) (Picture book. 3-6)"
A stylish princess works hard to distinguish herself and find her true calling. Read full book review >
PINK IS FOR BOYS by Robb Pearlman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"In this picture book, pink may be for boys, but colors are still not quite for everyone. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Pink, blue, yellow, and orange—all colors that are for boys, girls, popsicles, and unicorns. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >