A comprehensive, thought-provoking call for emphasizing the humanity in management.

LIVING YOUR LEADERSHIP

GROW INTENTIONALLY, THRIVE WITH INTEGRITY, AND SERVE HUMBLY

Ewing’s management manual focuses on the service element of leadership.

“Leadership is the bedrock of organizational effectiveness,” writes Ewing in his nonfiction debut, but too often people in leadership positions settle for merely managing their followers, moving them around like cogs in a mechanical design. “Your followers are people,” Ewing’s book reminds its readers, “complete with messy emotions, backstories, families, friends, hobbies, and lives outside of the workplace.” Ewing advocates the kind of involved, detailed, hands-on practice of management that’s exemplified in the phrase “going to gemba” (gemba is a Japanese term for “the real place”); i.e., successful managers walk around, make contact with their employees where the work is actually getting done, and witness potential problems firsthand. The end goal, according to Ewing, is managers who display “deep personal humility with intense professional will.” In concise, well-illustrated chapters, Ewing breaks down the tactics and strategies of truly inspired group guidance. The key characteristic that crops up repeatedly is humility. A good leader will manage people, but a great one will serve them, inspiring great loyalty and output. Citing Disney’s often repeated slogan “gratitude improves attitude,” Ewing stresses that insightful leadership will be always be based on others, not oneself, reflecting the “necessary reciprocal relationship” between leaders and followers. Although some readers, particularly those who’ve had experience in corporate power structures, will raise an eyebrow at Ewing’s contention that humility is essential to really effective leadership (nearly all of the famous business leaders he name-checks are well-known to be ferocious despots to their subordinates), anyone encountering this book will be impressed not only by its thorough research—every page is buttressed with footnotes—but by its earnest presentation. There’s much food for thought here, particularly for middle managers aspiring to improve their work ethic.

A comprehensive, thought-provoking call for emphasizing the humanity in management.

Pub Date: Feb. 27, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5320-4001-6

Page Count: 202

Publisher: iUniverse

Review Posted Online: June 21, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

BEATING THE STREET

More uncommonly sensible investment guidance from a master of the game. Drawing on his experience at Fidelity's Magellan Fund, a high- profile vehicle he quit at age 46 in 1990 after a spectacularly successful 13-year tenure as managing director, Lynch (One Up on Wall Street, 1988) makes a strong case for common stocks over bonds, CDs, or other forms of debt. In breezy, anecdotal fashion, the author also encourages individuals to go it alone in the market rather than to bank on money managers whose performance seldom justifies their generous compensation. With the caveat that there's as much art as science to picking issues with upside potential, Lynch commends legwork and observation. ``Spending more time at the mall,'' he argues, invariably is a better way to unearth appreciation candidates than relying on technical, timing, or other costly divining services prized by professionals. The author provides detailed briefings on how he researches industries, special situations, and mutual funds. Particularly instructive are his candid discussions of where he went wrong as well as right in his search for undervalued securities. Throughout the genial text, Lynch offers wry, on-target advisories under the rubric of ``Peter's Principles.'' Commenting on the profits that have accrued to those acquiring shares in enterprises privatized by the British government, he notes: ``Whatever the Queen is selling, buy it.'' In praise of corporate parsimony, the author suggests that, ``all else being equal, invest in the company with the fewest photos in the annual report.'' Another bull's-eye for a consummate pro, with appeal for market veterans and rookies alike. (Charts and tabular material— not seen.)

Pub Date: March 1, 1993

ISBN: 0-671-75915-9

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 1993

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

more