THE SAVIOURS: Seven Plays on One Theme by Clemence Dane

THE SAVIOURS: Seven Plays on One Theme

Email this review


England down through history -- and always, in her hour of direst need, the spirit that is England is born again. Merlin -- immortal -- the narrator through seven scenes; Arthur, rescuing England from the German hordes and the native traitors; Alfred, driving out the Danes; Robin Hood; Essex, darling of a Queen, but too proud to rule as he might; Nelson, victor over England's threat of conquest; 1914 -- the people's sacrifice -- for an interlude, an illusion of peace. play form -- to be read.

Pub Date: June 19th, 1942
Publisher: Doubleday, Doran