Ten percent of the net proceeds from sales will go to the Friends of Animals Utah, where Rudy was found. Or you can just...

READ REVIEW

SHOOT FOR THE MOON

LESSONS ON LIFE FROM A DOG NAMED RUDY

Humphrey ascribes to her dog Rudy a number of platitudes on life and living splashed onto brightly colored pages.

Rudy, a brown-and-white dog with a red heart on his collar, is the protagonist. “Find a hero,” says the text in big, bold script opposite an image of Rudy gazing upon a poster of a becaped Superdog who has captured a thief. “Find a balance …” finds Rudy balanced on two paws on a red-and-white ball. Rudy stretches and leaps and rolls with it and follows his star, ensuring that he, and readers, “will find happiness wherever you are!” The back story for this self-indulgent pseudo-philosophy is the author/artist’s adoption of Rudy from a shelter and how she began painting him, finding in him the source of her life lessons. The rich colors and simple shapes are eye-catching, but the simplistic advice is not. There is not a lot of child appeal. It is more like the kind of thing adults give to other adults instead of a fancy greeting card, although some of those evoke deeper emotions.

Ten percent of the net proceeds from sales will go to the Friends of Animals Utah, where Rudy was found. Or you can just make a direct donation. (Picture book. Adult)

Pub Date: May 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-8118-7783-1

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Chronicle

Review Posted Online: April 18, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An unabashed love letter from mother.

I LOVE YOU, LITTLE POOKIE

From the Little Pookie series

A sweet celebration of the bond between a mother and her Pookie.

The eighth installment in this always charming series eschews the episodic drama and silliness of earlier outing such as Spooky Pookie (2015) in favor of a mom’s-eye-view celebration of her child and the time they spend together. There is, of course, nothing wrong with drama and silliness. But while the lack of conflict and plot in favor of unapologetic sentiment makes this book a quick read, that doesn’t make it any less endearing. The rhymed verse captures a mother’s wonder as she observes the many facets of her child’s personality: “Ah, Pookie. My little one. My funny one. My child. // Sometimes you are quiet. Sometimes you are wild.” On the simple joys of shared moments, she notes, “I love to go walking with you by my side. / I love when we sing when we go for a ride. // And I love just to watch as you think and you play. / The way that you are is a wonderful way.” Paired with author/illustrator Boynton’s irresistible renderings of a porcine mommy and her playful, snuggly little piglet, the result is impossible to fault. Whether quietly reading, running in a tiger suit, singing with mom in the car, ears flapping in the breeze, or enjoying the safety of mom’s embrace, Pookie’s appeal continues unabated.

An unabashed love letter from mother. (Board book. 1-4)

Pub Date: Dec. 4, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5344-3723-4

Page Count: 18

Publisher: Little Simon/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Dec. 5, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

THE WONKY DONKEY

The print version of a knee-slapping cumulative ditty.

In the song, Smith meets a donkey on the road. It is three-legged, and so a “wonky donkey” that, on further examination, has but one eye and so is a “winky wonky donkey” with a taste for country music and therefore a “honky-tonky winky wonky donkey,” and so on to a final characterization as a “spunky hanky-panky cranky stinky-dinky lanky honky-tonky winky wonky donkey.” A free musical recording (of this version, anyway—the author’s website hints at an adults-only version of the song) is available from the publisher and elsewhere online. Even though the book has no included soundtrack, the sly, high-spirited, eye patch–sporting donkey that grins, winks, farts, and clumps its way through the song on a prosthetic metal hoof in Cowley’s informal watercolors supplies comical visual flourishes for the silly wordplay. Look for ready guffaws from young audiences, whether read or sung, though those attuned to disability stereotypes may find themselves wincing instead or as well.

Hee haw. (Picture book. 5-7)

Pub Date: May 1, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-545-26124-1

Page Count: 26

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: Dec. 29, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more