Kirkus Reviews QR Code
INSANE CITY by Dave Barry

INSANE CITY

By Dave Barry

Pub Date: Jan. 29th, 2013
ISBN: 978-0-399-15868-1
Publisher: Putnam

Hangovers, bridesmaids, Haitian refugees and rogue primates run amok in Miami.

Big, goofy comedy in the vein of Carl Hiaasen and Tim Dorsey doesn’t come by as often as most readers would like and neither do straight-up novels by the likes of Barry (Lunatics, 2012, etc.). So, to have two entries by the Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist in a single year is momentous.  For this (nominally) adult-oriented novel, Barry returns to the broad strokes and over-the-top characters that marked early novels Big Trouble and Tricky Business. Seth Weinstein is a good-hearted, unambitious professional tweeter on the verge of marrying up to Tina Clark, a wealthy debutante whose affection for Seth is largely based on his sense of humor. Seth’s “Groom Posse” has loaded up for his bachelor party with the traditional elements of booze, strippers and a complete lack of common sense, starting by stocking his baggage with sex toys. Back at the hotel, Tina and her sister Meghan work with wedding planners and try to reel in the Posse’s antics while her father, a member of a secret cabal called The Group of Eleven, conspires to join the even more exclusive Group of Six. “So you’re not bleeding from the head and hanging out with a Beyoncé look-alike and a Jerry Springer bouncer carrying a large snake?” Tina asks—it’s one of those weekends. Despite the adult content, Barry keeps the humor good-naturedly bawdy while simultaneously throwing in everything but the kitchen sink. While the Groom Posse are standard fare from every bachelor-party film you’ve ever seen, the supporting cast is inspired insanity. Among the subjects of Barry’s whacked-out character studies are Hot Bod competitor Cyndi, who takes a shine to Seth; wedding planner Blaze Gear, with assistants Traci and Tracee in tow; an angry, expensive stripper and her gargantuan pimp; a Haitian family on the run; and a rogue orangutan named Trevor. Yes, really.

Utterly familiar but funny.