A smooth repackaging of how to think outside the box but offering little heft and nothing new.

READ REVIEW

IT'S NOT ABOUT THE SHARK

HOW TO SOLVE UNSOLVABLE PROBLEMS

Niven (100 Simple Secrets series) suggests that we right the rules of the game and not let our problems command the playing field.

The crux of the issue is well-taken: “If we look to our problems first, if we let a problem define the entirety of what we do next, more likely than not we will fail.” The author advises readers to set their problems aside and seek solutions. But what does that mean? Solutions to what? Well, to problems, one imagines. If you are hunting for a solution, the problem is hovering somewhere. Niven is more on the mark, if not groundbreaking, when he warns not to become obsessed by a problem, which clearly can diminish ingenuity, and not to let problems define the terms of the contest. The book’s appeal lies in its design: a handful of anecdotal problem-based-thinking dead ends that most readers will find relatable, a summary “takeaway” with a boldfaced key sentence, and a couple of tidy, encouraging pieces of counsel on approaching problems from atypical directions. The author keeps things light and scatters plenty of gems—e.g., “82.5 percent of us would physically hurt someone to teach him or her a lesson” or words from Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five: “Good taste will put you out of business.” Too often, however, Niven fails to be convincing. Sometimes the first draft, which he abjures, is the best, the freshest; sometimes our instinct to see bad over good is the wisest move, a healthy skepticism, not “a survival instinct that has survived too long.” Nor is it always true that the “best answer…will come” when you give your problem a rest. Most irksome are the false promises: “The solution is within you”; “Imagine turning your biggest problems into an asset. You can.”

A smooth repackaging of how to think outside the box but offering little heft and nothing new.

Pub Date: Nov. 4, 2014

ISBN: 978-1250042033

Page Count: 240

Publisher: St. Martin's

Review Posted Online: Sept. 9, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

THE 48 LAWS OF POWER

The authors have created a sort of anti-Book of Virtues in this encyclopedic compendium of the ways and means of power.

Everyone wants power and everyone is in a constant duplicitous game to gain more power at the expense of others, according to Greene, a screenwriter and former editor at Esquire (Elffers, a book packager, designed the volume, with its attractive marginalia). We live today as courtiers once did in royal courts: we must appear civil while attempting to crush all those around us. This power game can be played well or poorly, and in these 48 laws culled from the history and wisdom of the world’s greatest power players are the rules that must be followed to win. These laws boil down to being as ruthless, selfish, manipulative, and deceitful as possible. Each law, however, gets its own chapter: “Conceal Your Intentions,” “Always Say Less Than Necessary,” “Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy,” and so on. Each chapter is conveniently broken down into sections on what happened to those who transgressed or observed the particular law, the key elements in this law, and ways to defensively reverse this law when it’s used against you. Quotations in the margins amplify the lesson being taught. While compelling in the way an auto accident might be, the book is simply nonsense. Rules often contradict each other. We are told, for instance, to “be conspicuous at all cost,” then told to “behave like others.” More seriously, Greene never really defines “power,” and he merely asserts, rather than offers evidence for, the Hobbesian world of all against all in which he insists we live. The world may be like this at times, but often it isn’t. To ask why this is so would be a far more useful project.

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 1998

ISBN: 0-670-88146-5

Page Count: 430

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 1998

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more