A clever, engaging sci-fi mystery.

READ REVIEW

PACT I

THE TASTE OF FEAR

In Shelley’s sci-fi novel, a diverse assemblage of characters attempts to thwart an alien scheme.

In the future, a group of aliens make a deal with the Order—the men who basically rule the Earth—to allow them to harvest humans as meat for a galactic restaurant chain. Addsh Iggh Igg Ondrgg’h, aka William, negotiates the pact; on William’s planet, everyday life is so horrible that those who escape achieve godlike status, but he’s interested mainly in profit. As a selling point in this deal, he offers to rejuvenate the elderly Order leaders. Some earthlings plan to defend their planet, however, and the author develops each character independently, making them all strikingly real. Shub Niggurath, for example, is a 12-year-old CIA assassin living under lock and key who’s only unleashed on special missions, while the Ghost is an operative whose skills and paranoia render him all but invisible to his enemies. Nina Kay, the Ghost’s former lover, is a detective who makes Sherlock Holmes look dim; she lives in a submarine out of fear of assassination. Jazz, a rogue soldier and intelligence officer, gets her results through torture, and Dave Cameron is a big-game hunter whose father was among the aliens’ first victims. Jazz is appointed head of a military task force to investigate the disappearance of thousands of humans, and she enlists Nina, who slowly and logically unravels the mystery. Meanwhile, Cameron, avenging his father, becomes the first earthling to kill an alien. When all the various characters finally get together, they work to set a trap for the aliens and get rid of them once and for all. This novel’s plot may sound a bit like a Douglas Adams knockoff, but although the novel’s over-the-top characters and unpronounceable alien names suggest a tongue-in-cheek tone, it’s far more complicated and full of mysteries than readers may initially expect. The humor is just one facet of this intriguing story, as Shelley effectively uses superb character development, foreshadowing and literary allusions to keep readers turning pages until the very end.

A clever, engaging sci-fi mystery.

Pub Date: March 20, 2013

ISBN: 978-1479797431

Page Count: 330

Publisher: Xlibris

Review Posted Online: June 19, 2013

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2019

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE WATER DANCER

The celebrated author of Between the World and Me (2015) and We Were Eight Years in Power (2017) merges magic, adventure, and antebellum intrigue in his first novel.

In pre–Civil War Virginia, people who are white, whatever their degree of refinement, are considered “the Quality” while those who are black, whatever their degree of dignity, are regarded as “the Tasked.” Whether such euphemisms for slavery actually existed in the 19th century, they are evocatively deployed in this account of the Underground Railroad and one of its conductors: Hiram Walker, one of the Tasked who’s barely out of his teens when he’s recruited to help guide escapees from bondage in the South to freedom in the North. “Conduction” has more than one meaning for Hiram. It's also the name for a mysterious force that transports certain gifted individuals from one place to another by way of a blue light that lifts and carries them along or across bodies of water. Hiram knows he has this gift after it saves him from drowning in a carriage mishap that kills his master’s oafish son (who’s Hiram’s biological brother). Whatever the source of this power, it galvanizes Hiram to leave behind not only his chains, but also the two Tasked people he loves most: Thena, a truculent older woman who practically raised him as a surrogate mother, and Sophia, a vivacious young friend from childhood whose attempt to accompany Hiram on his escape is thwarted practically at the start when they’re caught and jailed by slave catchers. Hiram directly confronts the most pernicious abuses of slavery before he is once again conducted away from danger and into sanctuary with the Underground, whose members convey him to the freer, if funkier environs of Philadelphia, where he continues to test his power and prepare to return to Virginia to emancipate the women he left behind—and to confront the mysteries of his past. Coates’ imaginative spin on the Underground Railroad’s history is as audacious as Colson Whitehead’s, if less intensely realized. Coates’ narrative flourishes and magic-powered protagonist are reminiscent of his work on Marvel’s Black Panther superhero comic book, but even his most melodramatic effects are deepened by historical facts and contemporary urgency.

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Pub Date: Sept. 24, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-399-59059-7

Page Count: 432

Publisher: One World/Random House

Review Posted Online: July 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more