Entertainment & Sports Book Reviews (page 9)

STANLEY KUBRICK AND ME by Emilio D'Alessandro
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 17, 2016

"As good an insider's view of middle- to late-period Kubrick as there is."
A fly-on-the-wall view of the movie business as conducted by a highly eccentric director. Read full book review >
YOUR FAVORITE BAND IS KILLING ME by Steven Hyden
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: May 17, 2016

"A pop-culture journey to self-realization that makes some intriguing stops before it runs out of gas."
What we talk about when we talk about the Beatles vs. the Stones, Hendrix vs. Clapton, and Biggie vs. Tupac. Read full book review >

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE by Tom Vanderbilt
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: May 10, 2016

"Like it or not, there's much to behold in this exhaustively researched, intellectual assessment of human preference."
The science behind the choices we make. Read full book review >
IN THE NAME OF GUCCI by Patricia Gucci
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"An absorbing, bittersweet tribute."
The heiress to the Italian fashion house unfurls her combustible family history. Read full book review >
FOR THE GLORY by Duncan Hamilton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"A moving hagiography that will appeal to fans of Chariots of Fire as well as Unbroken and similar books."
The life of the deeply Christian Olympic champion runner who forsook the glory for missionary work in China. The story was the basis for the award-winning film Chariots of Fire.Read full book review >

DAVE HILL DOESN'T LIVE HERE ANYMORE by Dave Hill
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"Hill makes an amiable companion, and if his stories aren't earth-shattering, his unforced humor is worth a few chuckles."
An unassuming and amusing collection of essays that touches lightly on the modest events of a believably undramatic life. Read full book review >
MOGULS, MONSTERS AND MADMEN by Barry Avrich
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"An entertaining look at some giant-sized celebrity personalities."
Montreal-bred impresario Avrich (Selling the Sizzle, 2, 2005, etc.) recounts the deals that shaped his career in North America's often volatile and always high-stakes entertainment industry.Read full book review >
DIGGING UP MOTHER by Doug Stanhope
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"Stanhope offers good evidence that if our own families are messed up, there's always someone who's got it worse. Lively and smart and, in the manner of the best comedy, as sad as it is funny."
In his first book, stand-up comedian Stanhope delivers a sympathetic though unenviable portrait of his multiply addicted, much troubled mother. Read full book review >
AMERICAN RHAPSODY by Claudia Roth Pierpont
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"As vital and entertaining as the creators and work it celebrates, American Rhapsody is an uncommonly satisfying celebration of the cultural kaleidoscope known as the United States."
The New Yorker staff writer delivers a selective history of the difficult, chaotic, transcendent genius of arts in America.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"Kirschbaum provides a welcome sketch of Klinsmann, a thoughtful man of the world who has for years lived in California and who cannot be pigeonholed as merely a European trying to remake American soccer in the Old World image."
A sympathetic look at the man who is trying to transform American soccer and the methods he is using. Read full book review >
THE SUN AND THE MOON AND THE ROLLING STONES by Rich Cohen
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"A compact and conversant history that makes the story new again, capturing the Rolling Stones in all their Faustian glory."
A funny, personal, and professional history of the Rolling Stones. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: May 3, 2016

"A hopeful and optimistic treatise that will surely be required reading for performing arts students."
A guidebook for aspiring performing artists to help them navigate the business side of showbiz. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >