Kirkus Star


Email this review


Finally, iconoclastic DI John Rebus has gone too far, heaving crockery at DCI Gill Templer, and he’s been remanded to Tulliallan, the Scottish Police College midway between Edinburgh and Glasgow, for a course on appropriate team behavior led by retired DCI Tennant, who assigns Rebus and five other anti-authority types—officers Francis Gray, Stu Sutherland, Tam Barclay, Allan Ward, Jazz McCullough—to work, together, in harmony, on the long unresolved murder of Eric Lomax. Meanwhile, back in Edinburgh, DS Siobhan Clarke and new laddie DC Davie Hynds have their hands full with the murder of bludgeoned art dealer Edward Marber, the case Rebus was investigating before being sent down to Tulliallan and confronted with the Lomax killing, another former case of his. Yet a third job for Rebus hinges on the real reason (no, not his insubordination) he’s been sent to Tulliallan: to get the goods on three dirty cops. Unfortunately, his plan to lure them into capture during a police warehouse drug heist goes awry when the drugs disappear. The political infighting this debacle causes among Rebus’s superiors is only partially resolved when he manages to implicate the tainted coppers by tying their earlier ill-gotten windfalls into Marber’s death and barely escapes death himself when one of his targets switches sides.

Rankin keeps topping his own best work (A Good Hanging, 2002, etc.), this time by juicing up the plot with more twists than the Amalfi Drive, giving Siobhan more to do, and having Rebus revisit old graves and overlooked mistakes en route to a kind of resurrection.

Pub Date: Feb. 3rd, 2003
ISBN: 0-316-76684-4
Page count: 448pp
Publisher: Little, Brown
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15th, 2002

Kirkus Interview
Ian Rankin
August 11, 2015

Brilliant, irascible and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories collects all of Ian Rankin's Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before published tales written specifically for this collection. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in “Dead and Buried,” right up to his dramatic, but not quite final, retirement in “The Very Last Drop,” Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction's most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. “Rankin’s canny cop is as gray and dour as his Edinburgh beat, but he’s in fine form in these clever, occasionally touching, and often wryly funny vignettes,” our reviewer writes; we talk to Rankin this week on Kirkus TV. View video >


MysteryRATHER BE THE DEVIL by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin
MysteryEVEN DOGS IN THE WILD by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin
MysteryTHE BEAT GOES ON by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin


MysteryTHE DYING HOURS by Mark Billingham
by Mark Billingham
Sci-FiRULE 34 by Charles Stross
by Charles Stross