Essays & Anthologies Book Reviews

THE JANE AUSTEN WRITERS' CLUB by Rebecca Smith
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"A worthy companion for writers and readers that entertains and enlightens."
Jane Austen's "five-times-great-niece" draws inspiration and instruction from her ancestor's novels and letters in this valuable compendium of advice. Read full book review >
SOUL AT THE WHITE HEAT by Joyce Carol Oates
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"As always, Oates is curious, probing, and memorably startling."
Another collection of sparkling literary essays from the prolific author of both fiction and nonfiction. Read full book review >

LOST WAX by Jericho Parms
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 15, 2016

"As an artist and a person, what Parms desires most of all is 'to soak everything in,' and as she does so, we find her to be a perceptive, unsettling, and surprisingly endearing guide."
A debut author exhibits a mind brimming with ideas and fired by self-inquiry, drawn equally to the wondrous and tragic, with thoughts framed in sections named after the sculptures of Degas, Bernini, and Rodin. Read full book review >
I'M JUDGING YOU by Luvvie Ajayi
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Bits of humor help these occasionally hard-hitting essays go down."
A collection of societal criticism tempered with humor. Read full book review >
EVERYWHERE I LOOK by Helen Garner
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Like strolling around in an idiosyncratic, surprising, and informative museum."
A veteran Australian novelist and essayist returns with a motley, spirited collection of pieces dating back more than a decade. Read full book review >

THE LOST WORK OF WILL EISNER by Will Eisner
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The value of this work lies in its presentation of the seeds of germination for what came later."
The earliest comic strips by the pioneering cartoonist and seminal graphic novelist. Read full book review >
WE GON' BE ALRIGHT by Jeff Chang
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations."
In this collection, written "in appreciation of all the young people who would not bow down," outspoken journalist Chang (Who We Be: A Cultural History of Race in Post-Civil Rights America, 2014, etc.) offers six critical essays addressing racial inequality and inequity and how these provocative, multifaceted issues impact virtually every culture. Read full book review >
Indigenous Writes by Chelsea Vowel
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 9, 2016

"A convincing case for rejecting the prevailing policies of 'assimilation, control, intrusion and coercion' regarding aboriginal people."
A Canadian explores the many misconceptions about her country's indigenous citizens. Read full book review >
SENIOR MOMENTS by Willard Spiegelman
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Spiegelman's preference for masters of 'cool clarity, sharpened perception, and a transparent style' is revealed in his own writing, which is lucid and propulsive, opening portals to heightened enjoyment of the time we have."
A wide-ranging collection of essays reflecting the septuagenarian author's rejection of the more hysterical predictions of cultural doom. Read full book review >
UTOPIA IS CREEPY by Nicholas Carr
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A collection that reminds us that critical thinking is the best way to view the mixed blessings of rampant technology. A treat for Carr fans."
Popular technology guru Carr (The Glass Cage: Automation and Us, 2014, etc.) offers a skeptical chronicle of the wonders of the digital revolution. Read full book review >
THE SHIPWRECKED MIND by Mark Lilla
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Lilla provides a welcome corrective in restoring analytical balance but is less convincing when he veers toward polemics."
A short book drawn from a series of essays analyzes the contemporary relevance of the oft-maligned "reactionary," who isn't retreating into the past so much as reclaiming it. Read full book review >
BLACK POWER 50 by Sylviane A. Diouf
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"The text and visuals combine for an educational, eye-opening experience."
An illuminating text accompanies visuals from an exhibit commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Black Power movement. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >