Essays & Anthologies Book Reviews

EVERYWHERE I LOOK by Helen Garner
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Like strolling around in an idiosyncratic, surprising, and informative museum."
A veteran Australian novelist and essayist returns with a motley, spirited collection of pieces dating back more than a decade. Read full book review >
WE GON' BE ALRIGHT by Jeff Chang
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations."
In this collection, written "in appreciation of all the young people who would not bow down," outspoken journalist Chang (Who We Be: A Cultural History of Race in Post-Civil Rights America, 2014, etc.) offers six critical essays addressing racial inequality and inequity and how these provocative, multifaceted issues impact virtually every culture. Read full book review >

Indigenous Writes by Chelsea Vowel
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 9, 2016

"A convincing case for rejecting the prevailing policies of 'assimilation, control, intrusion and coercion' regarding aboriginal people."
A Canadian explores the many misconceptions about her country's indigenous citizens. Read full book review >
SENIOR MOMENTS by Willard Spiegelman
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Spiegelman's preference for masters of 'cool clarity, sharpened perception, and a transparent style' is revealed in his own writing, which is lucid and propulsive, opening portals to heightened enjoyment of the time we have."
A wide-ranging collection of essays reflecting the septuagenarian author's rejection of the more hysterical predictions of cultural doom. Read full book review >
UTOPIA IS CREEPY by Nicholas Carr
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A collection that reminds us that critical thinking is the best way to view the mixed blessings of rampant technology. A treat for Carr fans."
Popular technology guru Carr (The Glass Cage: Automation and Us, 2014, etc.) offers a skeptical chronicle of the wonders of the digital revolution. Read full book review >

TAKE TO THE HIGHWAY by Bryce Milligan
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Sure-handed verse work in multiple registers."
In a new collection "for travelers," Milligan sometimes races and sometimes tools along; no matter the speed, it's a pleasing ride. Read full book review >
PLAY ALL by Clive James
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"A gentler companion to Harlan Ellison's The Glass Teat (1970), the only flaw of which is that it's too short, leaving readers wanting more."
Eminent literary and cultural critic James (Latest Readings, 2015, etc.) comes back to an old beat: reviewing the offerings on the small screen. Read full book review >
NOW I SIT ME DOWN by Witold Rybczynski
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"Rybczynski is totally engaging in this smoothly flowing, sharp, witty narrative—another winner from a top-notch writer on design."
The acclaimed popularizer and purveyor of all things architectural scrutinizes a "tool for sitting." Read full book review >
WASTING TIME ON THE INTERNET by Kenneth Goldsmith
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"Goldsmith outlines a future that perhaps offers a hope we can embrace, since a retreat seems impossible."
A persuasive argument about how what conventional wisdom dismisses as "wasting time" is actually time well spent. Read full book review >
THE ACCIDENTAL LIFE by Terry McDonell
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"A wide-ranging, smart, and witty collection testifying to an impressive career."
The former editor of Rolling Stone, Esquire, and Sports Illustrated looks back. Read full book review >
THE FIRE THIS TIME by Jesmyn Ward
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Timely contributions to an urgent national conversation."
Poets, scholars, and essayists reflect on race in America. Read full book review >
LOVE AND RUIN by Evan Ratliff
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: July 26, 2016

"An eclectic, never-boring collection."
Atavist magazine editor Ratliff brings together 10 pieces of journalism selected from the site's five-year history. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >