Kirkus Reviews QR Code


From the Frog and Friends series, volume 1

by Eve Bunting & illustrated by Josée Masse

Age Range: 5 - 8

Pub Date: Aug. 1st, 2011
ISBN: 978-1-58536-548-7
Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press

Frog and his friends Rabbit, Possum, Raccoon and Squirrel tickle funny bones, explore the world, solve problems and support each other in this trio of stories.

In the first, Frog calls his friends to see the strange orange object he finds. Their guesses as to what it might be are certain to keep readers in stitches. In the second, Raccoon’s gift of a scarf to the neckless Frog turns out to be not-so-perfect until a helping hand steps in. In the last story, a runaway zoo hippo who wants to see the world takes up every inch of space in the pond. Frog cleverly finds a way to get Hippo to appreciate the life he left behind so that he can have his pond back. Masse’s brilliantly colored cartoon illustrations capture both the forest pond that is Frog’s home as well as the personalities of each character—the rather protective mother Possum is depicted with a lacey collar, and Raccoon sports a natty poncho.

Here’s to many more adventures for Frog and his friends, who are sure to go home with fans of Fluffy and Morris. (Early reader. 5-8)