A diverting, eye-opening, but uneven look at the real lives of priests.

THE UNCOMMON PRIEST

A collection of anecdotes focuses on priests and their vocation in the modern world.

In his nonfiction debut, Fernandes, a Roman Catholic missionary from Goa, India, presents readers with a series of brief stories and vignettes designed to highlight various aspects of contemporary life for Catholic seminary students, priests, and missionaries. As the author points out in his Introduction, his tales are intended as much for priests as for laypeople, emphasizing both the humanity and the adaptability that should characterize the modern priesthood. The stories he’s chosen to relate span the spectrum of emotions, dealing with whimsical, humorous details of priestly life in a parish and touching on far deeper and more profound issues. Almost all of these tales will deliver revelations to at least some parishioners, both for the reminder that priests are only human and for the glimpses into the particulars of the calling. One story tells of a bishop charged with deconsecrating a church so it could be repurposed for secular use (“It is like telling God, ‘Now you pack up and move to another place’ ”). Another relates how a couple approached their priest with the special request that a family friend, a Catholic nun, be allowed to baptize their baby (readers are reminded that in times of emergency, “the Catholic church allows anyone to baptize, even a non-Catholic or a non-Christian”). Fernandes’ writing style is simple and inviting, although his actual storytelling ability is often confusingly patchy. In one tale, for instance, a big parish benefactor who wants to hang a national flag in the church sanctuary is asked by his priest to place it in the vestibule instead. When the benefactor objects that the vestibule is too dimly lit, the priest asserts, “Have you seen it recently? The vestibule looks awesome after a recent renovation”—and that’s where the story simply stops. These narrative bumps happen often enough to be distracting. But the author’s Christian and clergy readers—and fellow missionaries—will nevertheless find much here to entertain them.

A diverting, eye-opening, but uneven look at the real lives of priests.

Pub Date: March 28, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-973650-86-7

Page Count: 142

Publisher: Westbow Press

Review Posted Online: Jan. 12, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

THE 48 LAWS OF POWER

The authors have created a sort of anti-Book of Virtues in this encyclopedic compendium of the ways and means of power.

Everyone wants power and everyone is in a constant duplicitous game to gain more power at the expense of others, according to Greene, a screenwriter and former editor at Esquire (Elffers, a book packager, designed the volume, with its attractive marginalia). We live today as courtiers once did in royal courts: we must appear civil while attempting to crush all those around us. This power game can be played well or poorly, and in these 48 laws culled from the history and wisdom of the world’s greatest power players are the rules that must be followed to win. These laws boil down to being as ruthless, selfish, manipulative, and deceitful as possible. Each law, however, gets its own chapter: “Conceal Your Intentions,” “Always Say Less Than Necessary,” “Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy,” and so on. Each chapter is conveniently broken down into sections on what happened to those who transgressed or observed the particular law, the key elements in this law, and ways to defensively reverse this law when it’s used against you. Quotations in the margins amplify the lesson being taught. While compelling in the way an auto accident might be, the book is simply nonsense. Rules often contradict each other. We are told, for instance, to “be conspicuous at all cost,” then told to “behave like others.” More seriously, Greene never really defines “power,” and he merely asserts, rather than offers evidence for, the Hobbesian world of all against all in which he insists we live. The world may be like this at times, but often it isn’t. To ask why this is so would be a far more useful project.

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 1998

ISBN: 0-670-88146-5

Page Count: 430

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 1998

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more