Fiction & Literature Book Reviews

IN THE GARDEN OF THE FUGITIVES by Ceridwen Dovey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 22, 2018

"Sweeping both geographically and intellectually; a literary page-turner."
A South African expatriate now living in Australia and her much-older American benefactor wrestle with obsession and guilt while reconstructing the stories that brought them together many years earlier in Dovey's (Only the Animals, 2015) psychological excavation. Read full book review >
THE GLITCH by Elisabeth  Cohen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 22, 2018

"Clever, original, and unabashedly silly fun."
A disturbingly ambitious woman finds herself challenged by mysterious crises—both personal and professional—in Cohen's painfully funny satire of the tech industry. Read full book review >

THE HIGH SEASON by Judy Blundell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 22, 2018

"Luscious but not too sweet, astute but not too serious, Blundell's novel is a treat you don't have to feel guilty about and a sign of good things to come."
The quiet part of Eastern Long Island is invaded by the glitterati and the Twitterati—will they ruin it entirely? Read full book review >
COMPULSORY GAMES  by Robert Aickman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 17, 2018

"As unnerving as it is sinuous; an absolute delight."
A collection of dark, eerie tales from a master of weird fiction. Read full book review >
PRETEND I'M DEAD by Jen  Beagin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Singularly enjoyable."
A young woman's offbeat adventures among misfits, weirdos, and other human beings. Read full book review >

LAST STORIES by William Trevor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"As always, Trevor navigates the rough seas of human relations with a new angle, fresh language, deep sympathy, and uncanny insight."
Ten short fictions from the late Irish master (1928-2016) explore love, betrayal, and the ways that people cope with life's blows. Read full book review >
RAY VS THE MEANING OF LIFE by Michael F. Stewart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"A tale spins its answer to an age-old question into an inclusive, hilarious, and thought-provoking yarn."
A teenager will inherit an RV park if he figures out the meaning of life in this YA novel. Read full book review >
A SHOUT IN THE RUINS by Kevin Powers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"An impressive novel of slavery, destruction, and the arduous difficulties of love."
Spanning more than 120 years, Powers' (Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting, 2014, etc.) new novel is an exploration of the ongoing effects of the Civil War. Read full book review >
HOW IT HAPPENED by Michael Koryta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Crime fiction doesn't get any more enjoyable."
Boston FBI agent Rob Barrett gets himself sent to Port Hope, Maine, the town where his grandfather lived and where he spent his childhood summers, to help crack the case of a young couple's murder, which appears to have been committed by a childhood antagonist of Barrett's. Read full book review >
A MILLION DROPS by Victor del Árbol
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Meticulously plotted and stylishly written, this is a page-turner with fresh twists and surprises right up to the very end."
A mystery on an epic scale, extending over decades, generations, and nations as it attempts to illuminate the deepest mystery of all—the evil within the human soul. Read full book review >
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg."
A woman faces a new life after surviving a plane crash in this moving story from Center (Happiness for Beginners, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
A SHIMMER OF HUMMINGBIRDS by Steve Burrows
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 8, 2018

"Skillfully written, full of moral ambiguities and artful puzzles, with a spine-tingling final sentence."
A Canadian detective living in Britain pursues cases on two continents. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >