Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 3)

CHARMED BONES by Carolyn Haines
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Confusing multiple plots and double agents make this latest installment a little hard to follow, but Haines comes through in showcasing her heroine's romance and friendship where it really matters."
The arrival of a trio of Wiccan sisters creates chaos in a Mississippi town and brings plenty of business to a female-fronted detective agency. Read full book review >
THE DARK ANGEL  by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"The latest in Griffiths' impressive series, which cleverly weaves several mysteries into the continuing story of the leading couple and their circle of friends, is certain to delight devoted fans and newcomers alike."
An Italian vacation involves a bone expert in yet another murder. Read full book review >

THE FAVORITE SISTER by Jessica Knoll
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Dizzying and overwrought but salaciously entertaining nonetheless."
Knoll (Luckiest Girl Alive, 2015) turns her cynical eye to sibling rivalry and the twisted—and, in this case, murderous—world of reality TV. Read full book review >
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg."
A woman faces a new life after surviving a plane crash in this moving story from Center (Happiness for Beginners, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
WRATH OF EMPIRE  by Brian McClellan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"McClellan's design and construction grow steadily more impressive with each fresh installment."
Second entry in McClellan's Gods of Blood and Powder fantasy series (Sins of Empire, 2017), in which the land of Fatrasta has been invaded by the armies and sorcerers of the vast Dynize empire. Read full book review >

TIN MAN by Sarah Winman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Though it has its affecting moments, the book tries too hard to be searing and soulful."
A love triangle in the age of AIDS from a British actress and author (A Year of Marvelous Ways, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
A SHOUT IN THE RUINS by Kevin Powers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"An impressive novel of slavery, destruction, and the arduous difficulties of love."
Spanning more than 120 years, Powers' (Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting, 2014, etc.) new novel is an exploration of the ongoing effects of the Civil War. Read full book review >
DO THIS FOR ME by Eliza Kennedy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"This book deserves some sort of award for creating the most preposterous and unlikable protagonist in contemporary fiction."
A tightly wound litigator goes off the rails when she learns her husband has been having an affair. Read full book review >
MY MOTHER'S SON by David Hirshberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"An ambitious attempt that ultimately fails to tell a moving, never mind coherent, story."
Two Jewish boys grow up in 1950s Boston. Read full book review >
THE GOOD TWIN by Marti  Green
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"They're siblings, but their blood runs cold, turning what could have been a heartwarming reunion into a heart-stopping thriller."
Separated at birth, twin sisters are embroiled in a murder plot—against each other. Read full book review >
ARMISTICE by Lara Elena Donnelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Slow to get off the ground, but readers who enjoy luxuriating in the book's rich prose, sharp dialogue, and detailed interpersonal histories won't mind."
Donnelly returns readers to the world of Amberlough (2017) in this sequel, in which the fallout of a fascist regime's triumph continues to haunt those who escaped it...or who thought they had. Read full book review >
MELTDOWN by GP  James
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"A suspenseful and entertaining disaster novel."
James tells the story of a nuclear power plant employee racing to save New York City from destruction in this thriller. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >