Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 3)

K STREET by M.A. Lawson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"With characters as flat as construction paper and a formulaic plot, this book manages what other thrillers about the NSA have failed to do: make it boring."
Kay Hamilton—former Drug Enforcement Administration agent and woman of steel—takes on the all-knowing National Security Agency in the third entry in Lawson's series (Viking Bay, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
JUST ANOTHER JIHADI JANE by Tabish Khair
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Was this intense, enlightening novel really written not by a British Muslim girl but a male Indian novelist who lives in Denmark? It seems impossible. Required reading for anyone interested in trying to understand our mad, bloody world."
Two British Muslim girls run away to Syria to join the Islamic State group but find something far beyond disillusionment. Read full book review >

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME by Adam Silvera
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A novel to savor long after it ends. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
The talented author of More Happy than Not (2015) returns with a moving novel that explores friendship, grief, and trust among four young men. Read full book review >
THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE by Katherine Arden
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Arden has shaped a world that neatly straddles the seen and the unseen, where readers will hear echoes of stories from childhood while recognizing the imagination that has transformed old material into something fresh."
Arden's supple, sumptuous first novel transports the reader to a version of medieval Russia where history and myth coexist. Read full book review >
INDELIBLE by Adelia  Saunders
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Fans of David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas and Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife will love Saunders' debut, which takes up the mantle of myth, history, and storytelling with beautiful, sure-footed prose."
A Lithuanian immigrant who can see the fates of other people written on their skin pursues her mysterious connection to a young man and his father. Read full book review >

LILLIAN BOXFISH TAKES A WALK by Kathleen Rooney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"There is plenty of charm and occasional poignance here even if the novel makes you long for a proper biography of the real woman who inspired it."
A poet and writer of clever, innovative ad copy, Margaret Fishback was admired in her time—the pre-Mad Men era—but is mostly forgotten now. Rooney (O, Democracy!, 2014, etc.) has written a lively, fictionalized version of Fishback's story, drawing on real milestones but imagining her subject's inner life. Read full book review >
THE WINTER IN ANNA by Reed Karaim
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A melancholy, earnest study of friendship."
A longtime journalist looks back solemnly at his first job and one cryptic woman's influence on him. Read full book review >
HOMESICK FOR ANOTHER WORLD by Ottessa Moshfegh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A smartly turned and admirably consistent collection about love and its many discontents."
Dysfunctional relationships of many stripes—crumbling marriages, bad dates, slacker partners—drive this dark and quirky clutch of stories. Read full book review >
THE FUTURES by Anna Pitoniak
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A bittersweet coming-of-age drama and a portrait of an era."
Once young and in love and destined for greatness, a pair of recent college grads find themselves dangerously unraveling at the dawn of the 2008 financial crisis in Pitoniak's energetic debut. Read full book review >
A WORD FOR LOVE by Emily Robbins
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Oh-so-sensitive aperçus voiced in finely wrought language merely add to the general air of unreality in this well-intentioned but curiously unmoving novel."
In Robbins' debut, an American student of Arabic gets lessons in love and loss when she goes to study in the Middle East. Read full book review >
THE MAN WHO SHOT OUT MY EYE IS DEAD by Chanelle  Benz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"An ambitious book that marks Benz as a writer to watch."
A wide-ranging debut collection that spans time, genre, and place. Read full book review >
HEY HARRY, HEY MATILDA by Rachel  Hulin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A novel as remarkably witty as it is frightful."
Epistolary novel about endearing and indecent siblings. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Clinton Kelly
January 9, 2017

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly’s memoir I Hate Everyone Except You is a candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult. Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate Everyone, Except You, he reveals some heretofore-unknown secrets about himself, like that he’s a finicky connoisseur of 1980s pornography, a disillusioned critic of New Jersey’s premier water parks, and perhaps the world’s least enthused high-school commencement speaker. Whether he’s throwing his baby sister in the air to jumpstart her cheerleading career or heroically rescuing his best friend from death by mud bath, Clinton leaps life’s social hurdles with aplomb. With his signature wit, he shares his unique ability to navigate the stickiest of situations, like deciding whether it’s acceptable to eat chicken wings with a fork on live television (spoiler: it’s not). “A thoroughly light and entertaining memoir,” our critic writes. View video >