Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 4)

THE QUEEN OF SORROW  by Sarah Beth Durst
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"On balance, a decent wrap-up."
The final volume in a high fantasy trilogy (The Reluctant Queen, 2017, etc.) set on a continent where all the powers of nature are tied to vicious elemental spirits controlled by queens. Read full book review >
A MILLION DROPS by Victor del Árbol
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Meticulously plotted and stylishly written, this is a page-turner with fresh twists and surprises right up to the very end."
A mystery on an epic scale, extending over decades, generations, and nations as it attempts to illuminate the deepest mystery of all—the evil within the human soul. Read full book review >

HOW IT HAPPENED by Michael Koryta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Crime fiction doesn't get any more enjoyable."
Boston FBI agent Rob Barrett gets himself sent to Port Hope, Maine, the town where his grandfather lived and where he spent his childhood summers, to help crack the case of a young couple's murder, which appears to have been committed by a childhood antagonist of Barrett's. Read full book review >
THE STORM by Arif  Anwar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"An overstuffed narrative and sloppy writing mar a novel that, despite it all, still has its moments."
A trio of storylines centers around the Partition of India. Read full book review >
IVORY PEARL by Jean-Patrick Manchette
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Idiosyncratic French novelist Manchette, whose 1995 death at age 52 prevented him from completing this existentialist thriller, went out in style. Short but sprawling, the novel packs a mean punch."
In his final, unfinished novel, available for the first time in English, Manchette departs from crime fiction—but not extreme violence—to deliver a saga of high adventure. Read full book review >

THE ENSEMBLE by Aja Gabel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"An accomplished rendering of the competitive world of classical music helps balance the less-elegant handling of the characters' emotional lives."
Eighteen years in the musical careers and emotional lives of the members of a string quartet. Read full book review >
LAST STORIES by William Trevor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"As always, Trevor navigates the rough seas of human relations with a new angle, fresh language, deep sympathy, and uncanny insight."
Ten short fictions from the late Irish master (1928-2016) explore love, betrayal, and the ways that people cope with life's blows. Read full book review >
PRETEND I'M DEAD by Jen  Beagin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Singularly enjoyable."
A young woman's offbeat adventures among misfits, weirdos, and other human beings. Read full book review >
CHARMED BONES by Carolyn Haines
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Confusing multiple plots and double agents make this latest installment a little hard to follow, but Haines comes through in showcasing her heroine's romance and friendship where it really matters."
The arrival of a trio of Wiccan sisters creates chaos in a Mississippi town and brings plenty of business to a female-fronted detective agency. Read full book review >
THE DARK ANGEL  by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"The latest in Griffiths' impressive series, which cleverly weaves several mysteries into the continuing story of the leading couple and their circle of friends, is certain to delight devoted fans and newcomers alike."
An Italian vacation involves a bone expert in yet another murder. Read full book review >
THE FAVORITE SISTER by Jessica Knoll
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"Dizzying and overwrought but salaciously entertaining nonetheless."
Knoll (Luckiest Girl Alive, 2015) turns her cynical eye to sibling rivalry and the twisted—and, in this case, murderous—world of reality TV. Read full book review >
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg."
A woman faces a new life after surviving a plane crash in this moving story from Center (Happiness for Beginners, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >