Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 4)

THE RELUCTANT HIGHLANDER by Amanda Scott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Historical fiction with a touch of romance and a list of sources for readers interested in following up on the bloody clashes of 15th-century Scottish clans."
In this medieval romance, a young knight and a sheltered teen join in holy arranged matrimony while feudal unrest ripples around them during the rule of James I, King of Scotland. Read full book review >
FOREVER AND A DEATH by Donald E. Westlake
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Not as tough as Westlake's Richard Stark stories about Parker, not as humorous as his tales of the hapless thief Dortmunder, but a posthumous bonus fans will cherish anyway."
Fans of the beloved Westlake (1933-2008) will rejoice in this unexpected treat: a novel based on a treatment for a 1997 James Bond movie that the Chinese government's displeasure prevented from going into production. Read full book review >

THE TEMPLARS' LAST SECRET by Martin Walker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Just the thing for readers hungry for a banquet of epicurean pleasures, ancient history, international terrorism, and holy matrimony. More timid souls who crave a less incongruous mix may want to wait till next year."
The good life in the Périgord countryside is menaced by pedophiles, terrorists, torturers, and a visiting magistrate from Paris. Read full book review >
THE RISE AND FALL OF D.O.D.O. by Neal Stephenson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A departure for both authors and a pleasing combination of much appeal to fans of speculative fiction."
Immense and immensely entertaining genre-hopping yarn from hard-core sci-fi veteran Stephenson (Seveneves, 2015, etc.) and historical novelist Galland (Stepdog, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >
THE SWITCH by Joseph Finder
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A master of what might be called the 'man in over his head' thriller, Finder delivers a tense, uncannily relevant tale about government secrets falling into the wrong hands."
Boston coffee executive Michael Tanner's life is in jeopardy after he takes home the wrong laptop from the airport—one belonging to an Illinois senator containing highly classified files. Read full book review >

THE IDENTICALS by Elin Hilderbrand
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Intelligent escapism with heart."
A tale of identical twins and not-so-identical islands. Read full book review >
THE MENTOR by Lee Matthew Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"As often happens in satire, the characters quickly become caricatures, but the deeper implications about our society's obsession with violence are resonant and disturbing."
A book editor confronts the darkness of his past in Goldberg's (Slow Down, 2015) psychological thriller, a savvy parody in the vein of American Psycho. Read full book review >
YOU SHOULD HAVE LEFT by Daniel Kehlmann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A book to keep you up at night."
A beautifully crafted exercise in terror from one of Germany's most celebrated contemporary authors. Read full book review >
THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO by Nina George
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love."
A suicidal German woman travels to the French coast, intending to drown herself in the sea, but the allure of a quaint seaside village leads her to continually delay her plans. Read full book review >
CORMORANT RUN by Lilith Saintcrow
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A slow start and lack of compelling characters hold this back from becoming the gripping adventure it wants to be."
A down-and-dirty caper set in a dangerous and enigmatic world. Read full book review >
ALL THE SECRETS WE KEEP by Megan Hart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A gripping family drama filled with quirky details and twists, told by a master storyteller who keeps readers mesmerized even when they don't get what they think they want."
As Ilya Stern adjusts to the idea that his brother, Niko, and ex-wife, Alicia, are in love, he finds himself drawn to Theresa, but a haunting event from their past may hold secrets powerful enough to threaten their future. Read full book review >
OUR TINY, USELESS HEARTS by Toni Jordan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A funny, pleasant look at love, forgiveness, and second chances."
Marriage is complicated—and sometimes hilarious—in this novel from Australian writer Jordan (Nine Days, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >