Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 8)

THERE THERE by Tommy  Orange
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"In this vivid and moving book, Orange articulates the challenges and complexities not only of Native Americans, but also of America itself."
Orange's debut novel offers a kaleidoscopic look at Native American life in Oakland, California, through the experiences and perspectives of 12 characters. Read full book review >
MIRROR, SHOULDER, SIGNAL by Dorthe Nors
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Nors is an exquisitely precise writer, and in rendering her heroine's small disruptions and, yes, victories, she is writing for, and of, every one of us."
In this tautly observed novel, Nors reveals a middle-age woman on the verge of disappearance and discovery. Read full book review >

NEVER ANYONE BUT YOU by Rupert Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"A real-life modernist relationship is revived with commitment if not quite enough conviction."
An intense clandestine love affair between two Frenchwomen during the first half of the 20th century spans art and literature, war and imprisonment, madness and devotion. Read full book review >
HALF GODS by Akil Kumarasamy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"An otherwise moving collection feels overly prescribed."
A collection of stories about a family for whom the Sri Lankan civil war is a constant backdrop. Read full book review >
DAYS OF AWE by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Stories filled with dark wit in the tradition of Amy Hempel and Joy Williams."
A collection that examine the absurdities of modern life. Read full book review >

QUEEN FOR A DAY by Maxine Rosaler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"An engrossing and compassionate collection showing motherhood in its most unrelenting form."
This debut novel in stories circles around Mimi Slavitt, mother to an autistic son, with arcs into the lives of other mothers raising children with developmental disabilities in New York City. Read full book review >
SMALL COUNTRY by Gaël Faye
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Faye provides an interesting window into Burundi and a reminder of the specious logic and horrific cost of treating others like vermin."
Faye's debut tells the story of Gabriel, a preteen boy in mid-1990s Burundi when violence from the Rwandan genocide spills over the border. Read full book review >
SOCIAL CREATURE by Tara Isabella Burton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Religion and culture writer Burton's first foray into long-form fiction is at once a thrilling and provocative crime novel, a devastating exploration of female insecurity, and a scathing indictment of society's obsession with social media."
A calculating introvert latches onto a needy extrovert in this dark, stylish debut. Read full book review >
SOUTHERNMOST by Silas House
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"A brave tale of human generosity and the power and peace that come from heeding the courage of one's convictions."
A road novel that mixes warmth, empathy, tragedy, and hope. Read full book review >
WE ARE GATHERED by Jamie Weisman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Though the wild, wounded rant of the opening story seems promising, by the time we get to the mental patient and the Holocaust survivor who wander (separately) off into the woods, the reader, too, is ready to leave."
Monologues in the voices of six guests, plus the mother of the bride, at a wedding in Atlanta. Read full book review >
KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Brilliantly accomplished and uncompromisingly dark."
Brexit provides the sociopolitical background for Cusk's existential investigation into the nature of freedom and the construction of identity, the concluding volume to her brooding trilogy begun with Outline (2015). Read full book review >
BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"A zesty treat for YA and new-adult fantasists."
A young medieval woman embarks on a grim mission in this first installment of a fantasy romance series. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >