Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 8)

YOU SHOULD HAVE LEFT by Daniel Kehlmann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A book to keep you up at night."
A beautifully crafted exercise in terror from one of Germany's most celebrated contemporary authors. Read full book review >
THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO by Nina George
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love."
A suicidal German woman travels to the French coast, intending to drown herself in the sea, but the allure of a quaint seaside village leads her to continually delay her plans. Read full book review >

CORMORANT RUN by Lilith Saintcrow
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A slow start and lack of compelling characters hold this back from becoming the gripping adventure it wants to be."
A down-and-dirty caper set in a dangerous and enigmatic world. Read full book review >
ALL THE SECRETS WE KEEP by Megan Hart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A gripping family drama filled with quirky details and twists, told by a master storyteller who keeps readers mesmerized even when they don't get what they think they want."
As Ilya Stern adjusts to the idea that his brother, Niko, and ex-wife, Alicia, are in love, he finds himself drawn to Theresa, but a haunting event from their past may hold secrets powerful enough to threaten their future. Read full book review >
OUR TINY, USELESS HEARTS by Toni Jordan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A funny, pleasant look at love, forgiveness, and second chances."
Marriage is complicated—and sometimes hilarious—in this novel from Australian writer Jordan (Nine Days, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >

THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK by Kristen Lepionka
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Lepionka's debut confidently portrays complex characters with multiple, sometimes contradictory, motivations and offers an unusually naturalistic perspective on sexual identity."
A down-and-out private investigator works a case that takes her back to her own past. Read full book review >
PASSAGE TO SUNRISE by Bruno Jambor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A suspenseful tale brimming with intriguing concepts."
A CIA operative-turned-monk threatens a covert organization that advocates science over religion in Jambor's (Wildfire in the Desert, 2015) thriller.Read full book review >
MAD by Chloé  Esposito
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A bloody, gruesome slog."
A woman assumes her twin's identity and goes on a murderous rampage in this debut novel. Read full book review >
THAT CRAZY PERFECT SOMEDAY by Michael Mazza
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"A sensitive chronicle of a character who's part Gidget and part Soul Surfer redux, Mazza's novel relies on the vim, vigor, and total fun of its narrator's voice to pull the reader past rough spots that might otherwise harsh the novel's buzz."
Mazza's debut novel rips through the near future with a story that's part bildungsroman and part sci-fi surf lit, powered by the megawatt voice of Mafuri Long, a spritely surfer babe from Generation Z whose epic wave crests through this tale. Read full book review >
WILDERS by Brenda Cooper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"The potential for some interesting ideas languishes in a half-built world populated with barely sketched characters."
The first of a near-future series about an uneasy balance between city and country. Read full book review >
THE ACCOMPLISHED GUEST by Ann Beattie
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Despite flickers of optimism, this is a somber collection pondering mortality, fate, and the unknowability of others."
The John Cheever of her generation, Beattie (The State We're In: Maine Stories, 2015, etc.) has long chronicled the emotional foibles of upper-middle-class WASPs with sharply chiseled wit; in these 13 new stories, travel or a visit of some sort is the common thread, mortality the common theme. Read full book review >
THE ULTIMATUM by Karen Robards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"Fresh, sexy, and eminently readable."
When a huge heist goes awry, shadowy criminal Bianca St. Ives emerges as a security expert—only to be drawn back into crime by a mysterious job she's blackmailed into taking. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >