Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 9)

THE SLEEPING WORLD by Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A muddled novel about political unrest with a narrator who slouches toward adulthood with her feet dragging behind."
A quartet of politicized Spanish students hits the road during the heady summer of 1977. Read full book review >
COMMONWEALTH by Ann Patchett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A satisfying meat-and-potatoes domestic novel from one of our finest writers."
Two families are fused, atomized, and reconfigured by a stolen kiss, a child's death, and a bestselling novel. Read full book review >

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
EVERY KIND OF WANTING by Gina Frangello
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Fans of Frangello's work will enjoy this intricate portrait of the connections between an immigrant Latino family and moneyed North Shore magnates."
A twisted novel of family—the kinds we're stuck with and the kinds we make—which poses big questions about love, fidelity, and parenthood. Read full book review >
ALUTA by Adwoa Badoe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"As revolutions go, this is a rather dull one. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
As author and storyteller Badoe chronicles 18-year-old first-year political science student Charlotte Adom's college life at the University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana, it's one of studying hard, eating home-cooked meals between classes—and dating. Read full book review >

AN OBVIOUS FACT by Craig Johnson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Plenty of action, humor, and literary allusions drive the story to a bang-up conclusion. Johnson (Dry Bones, 2015, etc.) never disappoints."
The collision of biker gangs, a millionaire, numerous belligerent drunks, and an aging biker chick stirs up one nasty mess. Read full book review >
THE FOURTH FIGURE by Pieter Aspe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The Satanists remain unsatisfyingly shadowy to the bitter end, but Aspe provides both a wholly unexpected culprit and the perfect setup for the moment in which his police hero finally becomes a father."
The fourth case of Bruges Commissioner Pieter Van In to reach these shores, originally published in Belgium in 1998, pins the raffish cop between a covey of Satanists and a very pregnant wife. Read full book review >
THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE by Dinah Jefferies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A melodrama of the waning British Empire."
A young English wife becomes the mistress of a tea plantation in Ceylon and is quickly confronted with upheavals—racial, social, and domestic—in Jefferies' U.S. debut. Read full book review >
CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander  Weinstein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A cleverly wrought, if moralistic, group of tales."
Thirteen stories illuminating the dangers of a tech-obsessed future. Read full book review >
THE ORPHAN MOTHER by Robert Hicks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Satisfying historical fiction, of particular appeal to readers who live near the banks of the Harpeth or Cumberland."
Hicks (A Separate Country, 2009, etc.) extends his Tennessee-set historical saga into the years immediately following the Civil War. Read full book review >
THE GLOAMING by Melanie Finn
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Remarkably well-paced and well-written, this novel ends with an existentially astute finale. Don't expect to be able to set this book down or forget its haunted characters."
A propulsive literary thriller toggles between Switzerland and Tanzania. Read full book review >
BLOOD CRIME by Sebastià Alzamora
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"If you've ever wondered what it's like to feel simultaneously bored and nauseous, this is the book for you."
A veteran police inspector in Barcelona must hunt down a vampire amid the turmoil of the Spanish Civil War. Honest to God. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Melissa Sweet
author of SOME WRITER!
September 26, 2016

“SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, two-time Caldecott Honor winner and 2014 Kirkus Prize finalist Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White's granddaughter. “Like Charlotte, Sweet spins a terrific story,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A masterful biography that will enchant young readers.” View video >