Fiction & Literature Book Reviews

THE DAY OF THE DEAD  by Nicci French
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"Though its climax couldn't possibly live up to the harrowing story it ends, French's legion of fans will rejoice that she's capped her memorable week of thrillers (Sunday Silence, 2017, etc.) with this nerve-shredding eighth day."
French closes the saga of consulting psychologist Frieda Klein with the story of a criminology student who, casting around for a topic for her dissertation, chooses "In the Footsteps of Dr. Klein," a choice that turns her life into a nightmare. Read full book review >
HOW TO LOVE A JAMAICAN by Alexia Arthurs
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"A lovely collection of stories that rewards subsequent readings."
Jamaican immigrant and return-migration stories told with unsentimental honesty. Read full book review >

THE SPACE BETWEEN by Dete Meserve
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"A labyrinth of plot and character motivations makes for a thoroughly enjoyable novel."
In Meserve's (Perfectly Good Crime, 2016, etc.) mystery, a scientist looks for her missing husband but may not like what she finds. Read full book review >
WHISTLE IN THE DARK by Emma Healey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"An exquisite portrait of a mother's healing love for her troubled daughter."
After four agonizing days, Jen and Hugh Maddox's 15-year-old daughter, Lana, has been found, bloodied and soaking wet. But where has she been? Read full book review >
BELIEVE ME by JP Delaney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"The best parts of this book were written in the middle of the 19th century by Charles Baudelaire."
The unreliable-narrator craze continues with Delaney's (The Girl Before, 2017) new thriller. Read full book review >

PIRATA by Patrick Hasburgh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"This novel lacks some essential bit of pleasure but it's still an affecting read."
A former car salesman retreats to Mexico after a near-death experience and finds that the violence he tried to escape has followed him. Read full book review >
MARY B by Katherine J.  Chen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"Janeites won't find a perfect heir to Austen here, but as fan fiction, or a fresh novel of manners, Chen's work is compelling."
This debut novel is a reimagining of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice from the perspective of the quiet middle sister, Mary Bennet. Read full book review >
HANGMAN by Daniel Cole
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"Forgettable characters slogging, sometimes literally, through a pile of corpses makes for dull reading, even for readers looking for a bloody thrill."
Reluctantly assigned to a joint task force with the FBI and CIA, a British detective must relive the worst case of her career as a copycat killer appears determined to match the prior perp's carnage on both sides of the pond. Read full book review >
CHARLOTTE WALSH LIKES TO WIN by Jo Piazza
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"A novel that asks whether a woman can 'have it all' but that never even approaches an answer."
A Silicon Valley executive campaigns to be Pennsylvania's first female senator while trying to hold her marriage together in Piazza's (co-author: Fitness Junkie, 2017, etc.) latest novel, set in a post-2016 political climate. Read full book review >
GHOSTED by Rosie Walsh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that's perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes."
In Walsh's American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called. Read full book review >
AMERICA FOR BEGINNERS by Leah Franqui
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"Clichés and overexplaining get in the way of the humor and genuine sentiment that this novel strains toward.<"
A Bengali widow embarks on a road trip of the U.S. with a Bangladeshi guide and a young American woman. Read full book review >
THE LAST THING I TOLD YOU by Emily Arsenault
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018

"A few interesting character intersections but, overall, a fairly derivative thriller."
A woman who committed a violent act as a teenager returns to her New England hometown—and her former psychiatrist is murdered. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >