Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 49)

NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2005

"A refreshing portrait of wine not as an elite mystery, but as a product wrung from the earth by honest labor."
With great respect and admiration, Sanders (From Here, You Can't See Paris, 2002, etc.) pores over the convivial and welcoming wines of southern France. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 11, 2005

"Spicy and sweet by turns, with crackle and bite throughout."
Tasty revelations of Gourmet magazine editor Reichl's undercover antics as the former food critic at the New York Times. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 5, 2005

"Good-natured fast food from the doyenne of gossip columnists. Goes well with a cold Dr. Pepper or a slug of Booker's."
The venerable gossip columnist talks and eats her way through a memoir that recalls great comestibles shared with the gliterati of half a century. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2005

"As golden as its subject."
Fans of Sue Hubbell and Diane Ackerman will take to this like—well, bees to honey. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: March 25, 2005

"Being fully aware of the happy ending brings no diminishment of anxiety as the reader watches the insect march inexorably across the globe in this unlikely, thoroughly enjoyable cliffhanger."
Gripping account of a 19th-century plague that nearly wiped out the world's wine production. Read full book review >

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005

"Caviar, it turns out, is not just tasty. In Carey's hands, it's luminous."
Hard to imagine that a story about fish eggs could be "fast-paced," not to mention prophetic. But this piece of environmental journalism is both. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"As rich and satisfying as a chocolate cheesecake."
Once a self-confessed "chocolate ignoramus," James Beard Award-winner Rosenblum (A Goose in Toulouse, 2000, etc.) deftly delves into the secrets of the cacao bean. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 9, 2004

"An enjoyable treat full of gastronomic guffaws."
GQ restaurant critic Richman serves up a sharp, rollicking collection of articles documenting his most memorable culinary experiences. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"Likely to remain the book on the topic for a long time."
A keen encyclopedia of the aromatic plant's many aspects and applications, from vanilla broker, consultant, and all-around expert Rain. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 27, 2004

"Satisfying, but for dedicated Fisherphiles only."
Exhaustive biography gets behind the myths the acclaimed food writer herself perpetuated about her life, loves, and travels. Read full book review >
TOAST by Nigel Slater
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2004

"Paced as superbly as a seven-course meal, able to engage the heart and the memory as well as the taste buds."
British cookbook author Slater takes an engrossing, revealing look back at his 1960s childhood through the foods that filled his family's kitchen. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 6, 2004

"In the newspaper world they call it 'reporting from the mahogany ridge,' where so many fine stories, social truths, and bits of political wisdom are revealed."
"America's great middlebrow social elixir, and inseparable companion to the sporting and spectator life, the portal to first intoxication, the workingman's Valium, and a leavening staple to the college experience" finds a worthy explicator of its whys and wherefores. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >