Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 49)

FOOD & COOKING
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Enough jaundice to turn the paper yellow, but also enough pep and advice on bar etiquette to get you on the barstool for a test drive."
A former "spineless, frustrated Islamic New Jersey girl" chronicles her decade-long bartending stint at Marion's, a "kitschy fifties knockoff" in Manhattan. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: July 1, 2003

"Eloquent celebration of food and a woman who learned the hard way how to prepare it."
An American writer living in Sicily sympathetically captures a Sicilian woman's recollections of her childhood in an orphanage, complete with recipes. Read full book review >

FOOD & COOKING
Released: June 10, 2003

"A meaty addition to the growing GM debate."
Two cheers for transgenic tomatoes and Frankensteined frankfurters. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: May 5, 2003

"Three kinds of muck, raked by an adroit reporter."
The journalist who gave us the bestselling Fast Food Nation (2001) now investigates selected aspects of that nation's underground economy. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: May 1, 2003

"A yummy treat even for fans of Sanka and Michelob."
Recipes, restaurant critiques, and food lore—all agreeably season New York Times food writer Hesser's beguiling story of her two loves: food and the initially unpromising Mr. Latte. Read full book review >

BITTERSWEET by Peter Macinnis
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: May 1, 2003

"Lively and entertaining: a splendid saga for the general reader. (6 maps)"
From Australian science writer and broadcaster Macinnis, an informative and readable history of the simple substance that changed the world and often brought out the worst in people. Read full book review >
THE APPRENTICE by Jacques Pepin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 10, 2003

"Prose as joyful and rich as the author's food. (Photos, not seen)"
From chef, author, and cooking-show veteran Pépin (The Short-Cut Cook, 1990, etc.), an easygoing but proud memoir of his journey through the stations of the kitchen and the food world. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: April 8, 2003

"Readable, but shallow and too neat."
A skimming visit to the cultural-political dichotomy incarnated by the Napa and Sonoma valleys. Read full book review >
FRIED BUTTER by Abe Opincar
FOOD & COOKING
Released: April 1, 2003

"Elemental acuity and burlesque combine here to delicious effect."
Food as memory, memory as food, experienced with the unexpectedness of déjà vu, knocked between melancholy and humor, as summoned by newcomer Opincar. Read full book review >
WIFE OF THE CHEF by Courtney Febbroriello
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2003

"A light snack for readers brought up on Julia Child and James Beard, but a tasty one for all that."
A revealing look at the strange things that go on behind a kitchen's swinging doors amid the crashing of pans and the bubbling of egos. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 14, 2003

"Savvy and scary."
Why worry about bioterrorism? We're poisoning ourselves with calories, says freelance journalist and former fatty Crister. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"Intense, sensuous, lyrical, shaped by the sensibility of a poet and the eye of a farmer."
California farmer/memoirist Masumoto (Harvest Son, 1998, etc.) meanders through his fields and memories by way of the five senses. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Brad Parks
author of SAY NOTHING
March 7, 2017

In Brad Parks’ new thriller Say Nothing, judge Scott Sampson doesn’t brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: a prestigious job. A beloved family. On an ordinary Wednesday afternoon, he is about to pick up his six-year-old twins to go swimming when his wife, Alison, texts him that she’ll get the kids from school instead. It’s not until she gets home later that Scott realizes she doesn’t have the children. And she never sent the text. Then the phone rings, and every parent’s most chilling nightmare begins. A man has stolen Sam and Emma. For Scott and Alison, the kidnapper’s call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror; a high-profile trial like none the judge or his wife has ever experienced. Their marriage falters. Suspicions and long-buried jealousies rise to the surface. Fractures appear. Lies are told. “The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over,” our critic writes in a starred review. View video >