Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 51)

Released: July 30, 2005

"Delicious from start to finish, with only a very few lumps along the way."
A new history of American eating guaranteed to tempt all foodies. Read full book review >
Released: July 1, 2005

"A straightforward bio of Le Grand Bob, and a glimpse into the world of cool cellars and fretful sellers."
How the wine industry came to cater to a very particular Nosy Parker. Read full book review >

Released: June 1, 2005

"History, along with a bit of technology, etymology, chemistry and bibulous entertainment. Bottoms up! (24 b&w illustrations)"
Technology historian Standage (The Turk, 2002, etc.) follows the flow of civilization as humanity guzzles a half-dozen prime beverages. Read full book review >
Released: May 23, 2005

"Intensely involving: a character study of a gifted, driven man and the world that created him."
Enthralling plunge into the world of the late Bernard Loiseau: celebrity chef, P.R. genius, and manic-depressive. Read full book review >
Released: May 5, 2005

"All in all, a great ride with a homegrown American original."
Television host Ellerbee roams around the world and through her memories, one meal at a time. Read full book review >

Released: May 1, 2005

"Nothing less than a vision, not original so much as eloquently expressed, of farming returned to its roots, and of the mighty pleasures it can give."
The education of a farmer, and the vital role of the organic farm in his community, by Chaskey, steward of the cooperative Quail Hill Farm. Read full book review >
Released: April 30, 2005

"Quibbles aside, devotees of Ruth Reichl and M.F.K. Fisher will gobble up this delicious new gastronomic biography."
Brandon serves up the life story of a man who changed the way rich and poor ate. Read full book review >
Released: April 26, 2005

"Accessible, not luminous, and nowhere near the heights of, say, a Jennifer Ackerman or Edward Hoagland."
Beekeeper and entomologist Buchmann brings together scientific rigor and environmental zeal in a passionate history of the relationships among people, honey and bees. Read full book review >
Released: April 12, 2005

"A refreshing portrait of wine not as an elite mystery, but as a product wrung from the earth by honest labor."
With great respect and admiration, Sanders (From Here, You Can't See Paris, 2002, etc.) pores over the convivial and welcoming wines of southern France. Read full book review >
Released: April 11, 2005

"Spicy and sweet by turns, with crackle and bite throughout."
Tasty revelations of Gourmet magazine editor Reichl's undercover antics as the former food critic at the New York Times. Read full book review >
Released: April 5, 2005

"Good-natured fast food from the doyenne of gossip columnists. Goes well with a cold Dr. Pepper or a slug of Booker's."
The venerable gossip columnist talks and eats her way through a memoir that recalls great comestibles shared with the gliterati of half a century. Read full book review >
Released: April 4, 2005

"As golden as its subject."
Fans of Sue Hubbell and Diane Ackerman will take to this like—well, bees to honey. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >