Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 53)

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Enough jaundice to turn the paper yellow, but also enough pep and advice on bar etiquette to get you on the barstool for a test drive."
A former "spineless, frustrated Islamic New Jersey girl" chronicles her decade-long bartending stint at Marion's, a "kitschy fifties knockoff" in Manhattan. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2003

"Eloquent celebration of food and a woman who learned the hard way how to prepare it."
An American writer living in Sicily sympathetically captures a Sicilian woman's recollections of her childhood in an orphanage, complete with recipes. Read full book review >

NON-FICTION
Released: June 10, 2003

"A meaty addition to the growing GM debate."
Two cheers for transgenic tomatoes and Frankensteined frankfurters. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 5, 2003

"Three kinds of muck, raked by an adroit reporter."
The journalist who gave us the bestselling Fast Food Nation (2001) now investigates selected aspects of that nation's underground economy. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"A yummy treat even for fans of Sanka and Michelob."
Recipes, restaurant critiques, and food lore—all agreeably season New York Times food writer Hesser's beguiling story of her two loves: food and the initially unpromising Mr. Latte. Read full book review >

BITTERSWEET by Peter Macinnis
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"Lively and entertaining: a splendid saga for the general reader. (6 maps)"
From Australian science writer and broadcaster Macinnis, an informative and readable history of the simple substance that changed the world and often brought out the worst in people. Read full book review >
THE APPRENTICE by Jacques Pepin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 10, 2003

"Prose as joyful and rich as the author's food. (Photos, not seen)"
From chef, author, and cooking-show veteran Pépin (The Short-Cut Cook, 1990, etc.), an easygoing but proud memoir of his journey through the stations of the kitchen and the food world. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: April 8, 2003

"Readable, but shallow and too neat."
A skimming visit to the cultural-political dichotomy incarnated by the Napa and Sonoma valleys. Read full book review >
FRIED BUTTER by Abe Opincar
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2003

"Elemental acuity and burlesque combine here to delicious effect."
Food as memory, memory as food, experienced with the unexpectedness of déjà vu, knocked between melancholy and humor, as summoned by newcomer Opincar. Read full book review >
WIFE OF THE CHEF by Courtney Febbroriello
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2003

"A light snack for readers brought up on Julia Child and James Beard, but a tasty one for all that."
A revealing look at the strange things that go on behind a kitchen's swinging doors amid the crashing of pans and the bubbling of egos. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 14, 2003

"Savvy and scary."
Why worry about bioterrorism? We're poisoning ourselves with calories, says freelance journalist and former fatty Crister. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"Intense, sensuous, lyrical, shaped by the sensibility of a poet and the eye of a farmer."
California farmer/memoirist Masumoto (Harvest Son, 1998, etc.) meanders through his fields and memories by way of the five senses. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >