Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 53)

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Unaffected and inviting, with none of the elitist burdens of most exotic-food journalism."
The world of food explored with openness, an iron gut, and a hunger that goes to the level of emotional and cultural memory. Read full book review >
LETTERS TO A YOUNG CHEF by Daniel Boulud
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 2, 2003

"Something more fascinating than advice and admonitions: the chance to live briefly inside the head of a great chef who keeps more balls in the air than any juggler ever attempted."
Stern but realistic advice to those with their hopes pinned on the art of cooking, along with some strangely obvious culinary comments for such an audience. Read full book review >

CITIZENSHIP PAPERS by Wendell Berry
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"A clangor of worries, offering the antidotes of civility, responsibility, curiosity, skill, kindness, and an awareness of the homeplace."
Cagey uses of the essay as a town meeting to air threats to the commonweal. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 4, 2003

"The pervasive brashness and the ain't-I-difficult image-mongering can grate, but when Tower writes of his inspirations and the extraordinary foods and people he worked with, he is unfailingly intriguing and righteously grounded."
The former restaurateur, cookbook author, and PBS host tells his life story, explaining what drove him to achieve what he demurely calls his "national fame as a chef." Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Enough jaundice to turn the paper yellow, but also enough pep and advice on bar etiquette to get you on the barstool for a test drive."
A former "spineless, frustrated Islamic New Jersey girl" chronicles her decade-long bartending stint at Marion's, a "kitschy fifties knockoff" in Manhattan. Read full book review >

NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2003

"Eloquent celebration of food and a woman who learned the hard way how to prepare it."
An American writer living in Sicily sympathetically captures a Sicilian woman's recollections of her childhood in an orphanage, complete with recipes. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: June 10, 2003

"A meaty addition to the growing GM debate."
Two cheers for transgenic tomatoes and Frankensteined frankfurters. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 5, 2003

"Three kinds of muck, raked by an adroit reporter."
The journalist who gave us the bestselling Fast Food Nation (2001) now investigates selected aspects of that nation's underground economy. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"A yummy treat even for fans of Sanka and Michelob."
Recipes, restaurant critiques, and food lore—all agreeably season New York Times food writer Hesser's beguiling story of her two loves: food and the initially unpromising Mr. Latte. Read full book review >
BITTERSWEET by Peter Macinnis
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"Lively and entertaining: a splendid saga for the general reader. (6 maps)"
From Australian science writer and broadcaster Macinnis, an informative and readable history of the simple substance that changed the world and often brought out the worst in people. Read full book review >
THE APPRENTICE by Jacques Pepin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 10, 2003

"Prose as joyful and rich as the author's food. (Photos, not seen)"
From chef, author, and cooking-show veteran Pépin (The Short-Cut Cook, 1990, etc.), an easygoing but proud memoir of his journey through the stations of the kitchen and the food world. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: April 8, 2003

"Readable, but shallow and too neat."
A skimming visit to the cultural-political dichotomy incarnated by the Napa and Sonoma valleys. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >