Food & Cooking Book Reviews (page 7)

MY USUAL TABLE by Colman Andrews
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 18, 2014

"'My problem, of course, was that I was a decade or so ahead of the times.' That's not the only one."
A stroll down Memory Lane, with stops at the eateries that have shaped him, from food writer Andrews (The Taste of America, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >
EARTH ESSENCE by Helmut Norbert Taferner
FOOD & COOKING
Released: March 7, 2014

"A hearty and savory collection, with a few sweet delights thrown in."
A collection of healthy alternatives to traditional comfort food. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"Thorough research provides fascinating insight into the sweet business of maple syrup."
An inside look at the maple syrup industry. Read full book review >
THE MEAT RACKET by Christopher Leonard
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"An authoritative look at a ruthlessly efficient system."
An engrossing report on the industrialized American meat business. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"A lively, informative look at the transformative potential of a mission-driven niche industry."
Marketer, management scholar and journalist Dobrow chronicles how natural and organic foods were transformed from the pursuit of a few idealists to a thriving, multibillion-dollar industry. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Regardless of readers' culinary proclivities, Martin's lively book poses timely questions while offering tasty solutions."
Digging into the latest culinary trend, "entomophagist," or bug-eating expert, Martin expounds upon the "ecological, nutritional, economic, global and culinary" benefits of consuming insects. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

"A look at traditional Chinese medicine's ability to protect against food allergies that could generate considerable buzz in the medical community."
This detailed scientific analysis puts traditional Chinese medicine forward as a strong contender for treating food allergies. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 16, 2014

"A new, colorful angle on eating food from the earth."
In this spiritually minded cookbook, Dennis and food writer Lyons (The New EBONY Cookbook, 1999)argue that the colors of the foods we eat can balance our moods, improve our deficiencies and enhance our overall well-being. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Marshall's clear, direct book ably captures the frustrations of trying to find the healthiest path and inspiring kids to do the same."
Teaching kids "to learn the simple pleasures of the table and to appreciate the taste of real food." Read full book review >
GRILLING REINVENTED by Pete W. Rose
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Good eats from a grilling expert."
A grilling guide from a man who has your interests—food that is delicious, nutritious and safe—at heart. Read full book review >
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"An entertaining and informative memoir/self-help guide to living well on locally grown food."
One woman's experiment to eat only local foods. Read full book review >
GROWING A FEAST by Kurt Timmermeister
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 6, 2014

"A treat for anyone craving a point-by-point narration of how living off the land plays out for this former urban restaurateur-turned-cheese maker/farmer."
Creating a feast for friends from the bounty of your farm takes a variety of skills and plenty of dedication. In his second memoir, chef and author Timmermeister (Growing a Farmer: How I Learned to Live Off the Land, 2012) chronicles the long journey of a farm-to-table meal. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jenny Han
July 6, 2015

In Jenny Han’s P.S. I Still Love You, Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of makes it so amazing. View video >