An exciting murder mystery replete with humor, romance and intrigue.

READ REVIEW

Murder, al fresco

A captivating tale of murder, secrets and switched identity.

Statham’s (Flame of New Orleans, 2012) mystery novel centers on a pair of identical twins, Carley and Morgan Burnside, who stand to inherit property from their recently deceased grandmother, Lydia. Ever the jokester, Lydia dictated in her will that her beloved granddaughters would draw cards to determine who would receive which property—her house in Alabama where they each live, and a villa in France. Carley, to her dismay, draws the home in Alabama and assumes her life will remain much the same, as she suffers a divorce from a philandering husband and dismissal from the firm where they both had worked. She’s mistaken, however, when her career in landscaping resumes, landing her in an artist’s colony. But as her success grows, Carley suspects she’s being followed. Unbeknownst to her, her ex-husband’s mistress, Sherrie, isn’t satisfied with having stolen Carley’s husband, so she now seeks to destroy Carley’s new project as well. She unleashes the nefarious Rocky Donovan to trail Carley in the hopes that he’ll find something incriminating. But he’ll stop short of killing her—or will he? Just as Carley’s career hits an upswing, her love life does, too. Handsome, wealthy Evian “Whit” Whitstone comes into her life, but something about him has Carley uneasy. Her concern escalates when a murder occurs at one of her landscape projects, and all signs point to her close friend and trusted foreman, Jake. As Whit becomes more elusive, and Carley’s safety all the more threatened, Morgan resurfaces, thickening an already complex plot as she tries to step in and protect her sister. Well-paced and precise, this dramatic mystery weaves together romance, suspense and high stakes, culminating in an enthralling tale. Carley’s suspicions of those closest to her will keep readers guessing while cheering her on as she dodges various threats. This light but engaging read is likely to absorb readers until the last page.

An exciting murder mystery replete with humor, romance and intrigue.

Pub Date: Nov. 20, 2012

ISBN: 978-0967523385

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Bocage Books

Review Posted Online: June 17, 2013

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more