THE MAP OF BONES by Francesca Haig
Kirkus Star


From the "Fire Sermon Trilogy" series, volume 2
Email this review


This sequel to The Fire Sermon (2015) extends and deepens its story of a post-apocalyptic world riven by war.

Cass lives in a world divided in two by the nuclear blast that destroyed the old, technological world and created the twinning phenomenon that makes every pregnancy result in a twin birth: one child is always an Alpha, perfect and whole, and one an infertile, mutated Omega. Despite their differences, twins are bound together for life—when one dies, the other dies, too. In the first book, Cass, whose mutation is that she can see the future, escaped her twin, Zach, a powerful player on the ruling Alpha Council. She rescued a boy called Kip from a kind of living death, floating unconscious in a tank built by the Alphas to imprison their Omega twins to keep them away from harm. But even her visions couldn’t keep the council from slaughtering hundreds of Omegas on the island that had been their only refuge —or stop Kip from sacrificing his life to end that of his twin, who was working with the council. Now, along with Piper, a resistance leader, and his sympathetic Alpha twin, Zoe, Cass must prevent Zach and the rest of the council from trapping all Omegas in these horrifying tanks. Haig isn’t afraid to take readers into dark places, letting her characters struggle with grief and tough moral choices. Suspense comes as much from uncovering the secrets of the past as from moving inexorably toward the uncertain future.

A powerful post-apocalyptic story with unusual emotional depth and clear, often beautiful language, this is one genre fans won’t want to miss.

Pub Date: May 3rd, 2016
ISBN: 978-1-4767-6719-2
Page count: 320pp
Publisher: Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15th, 2016


ChildrenTHE HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins
by Suzanne Collins
FictionSTATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel
by Emily St. John Mandel
FictionORYX AND CRAKE by Margaret Atwood
by Margaret Atwood