Kirkus Reviews QR Code
NEBULA AWARDS: SHOWCASE 2000 by Gregory Benford


edited by Gregory Benford

Pub Date: April 1st, 2000
ISBN: 0-15-100479-X
Publisher: Harvest/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

The 1998 Nebula Award winners faithfully appear here—Bruce Holland Rogers's Best Short Story, “Thirteen Ways to

Water”; Jane Yolen's Best Novelette, “Lost Girls”; Sheila Finch's Best Novella, “Reading the Bones”; and an excerpt from

Joe Haldeman's Best Novel, Forever Peace—together with Rhysling Award (poetry) winners John Grey and Laurel Winter, and

runner-up yarns from Geoffrey A. Landis, Walter Jon Williams, and Mark J. McGarry. George Zebrowski introduces 1998's

Author Emeritus, William Tenn, whose acceptance speech reminds us, often amusingly, of the furious disagreements that have

characterized science fiction down the years. Poul Anderson praises Grand Master Award winner Hal Clement, while the latter

contributes his story “Uncommon Sense.” Elsewhere, nonfictionally, editor Benford (see above) looks back at the science-

fictional 20th century. Jonathan Lethem kicks off this year's debate with his complaint that SF lost all hope of claiming literary

respectability when in 1973 the SWFA voted Arthur C. Clarke's Rendezvous with Rama Best Novel, rather than Thomas

Pynchon's Gravity's Rainbow. Rejoinders in various hues issue from Gordon van Gelder and George Zebrowski—although

nobody sees fit to remark on this year's Best Novel, where nostalgia beat out one of the finest, most wrenching SF novels ever

written, J.R. Dunn's Days of Cain. Rounding out the proceedings, David Hartwell surveys the SF publishing scene, while Bill

Warren eyeballs the movies.

Invaluable, not just for the splendid fiction and lively nonfiction, but as another annual snapshot, complete with grins and scowls.