MEET CUTE by Helena Hunting

MEET CUTE

BUY NOW FROM
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

A woman reunites with her law school crush–turned-enemy, but this time he needs her help.

Kailyn grew up obsessed with the television show It’s My Life—specifically the show’s hunky teen star, Daxton Hughes. When she runs into him, literally, on her first day of law school, she can’t help but fangirl all over the place. Their awkward meeting blossoms into a sort of competitive friendship. After they graduate, she assumes she’ll never talk to him again. That is, until he shows up in her law office eight years later. His parents have died in a car accident, and Daxton needs Kailyn’s help reviewing a trust they set up for his teenage sister, Emme. Then, when Daxton’s aunt sues for custody, Kailyn is appointed Emme’s conservator, essentially becoming her legal guardian. As an adoptee who spent part of her childhood in a bad foster-care situation, Kailyn is especially invested in making sure that Emme has stability in her life. But in the course of advocating for Emme, Kailyn gets to know the real Daxton, not the made-up version she’s hated for the last eight years, and discovers she’s falling for him. Will their professional entanglements and messy history keep them apart, or was their law school meet-cute the beginning of their love story? Kailyn and Daxton’s story is a bit more dramatic and angst-y than the book's title implies, but that’s not a bad thing. Both characters are carrying a lot of baggage, with believable obstacles in the way of their romance. Hunting’s (Shaking Up, 2018, etc.) latest is perfect for fans of Helen Hoang’s The Kiss Quotient.

A fun and steamy love story with high stakes and plenty of emotion.

Pub Date: April 9th, 2019
ISBN: 978-1-5387-6018-5
Page count: 384pp
Publisher: Forever Press
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1st, 2019




SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

IndieWAKING UP IN VEGAS by Gabrielle  Dorian
by Gabrielle Dorian
FictionPUBLIC RELATIONS by Katie Heaney
by Katie Heaney
FictionDATING YOU / HATING YOU by Christina Lauren
by Christina Lauren