History Book Reviews (page 13)

THE TWO-STATE DELUSION by Padraig O'Malley
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 28, 2015

"Evenhanded, diplomatic, mutually respectful and enormously useful."
A thoughtful autopsy of the failed two-state paradigm. Read full book review >
EINSTEIN by Steven Gimbel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A fine, informative life of the renowned scientist."
How science, religion and politics shaped Einstein's life and work. Read full book review >

A PASSION FOR PARIS by David Downie
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Anyone who loves Paris will adore this joyful book. Readers visiting the city are advised to take it with them to discover countless new experiences."
Join Downie (Paris to the Pyrenees: A Skeptic Pilgrim Walks the Way of St. James, 2013, etc.) for a top-notch walking tour of Paris.Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HARMATTAN by Michael Jackson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"A slim but thoughtful rendering of an exotic locale that recalls The Quiet American."
A New Zealand-born philosopher reflects on his years studying an ethnic group in Sierra Leone, weaving in the fictional tale of a young Englishman searching for personal transformation. Read full book review >

HISTORY
Released: April 21, 2015

"An engaging and comprehensive depiction of an essential, but sometimes-overlooked, era of U.S. history."
Former Frontline journalist Reeves (Portrait of Camelot: A Thousand Days in the Kennedy White House, 2010, etc.) brings his reporting chops to this history of America's less-publicized response to the Pearl Harbor bombings.Read full book review >
MAN IN PROFILE by Thomas Kunkel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Kunkel cannot solve the mystery, but he offers a finely delineated portrait of the man."
The strange trajectory of one writer's career. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: April 21, 2015

"Difficult reading, but an extremely well-written political statement about Turkey—not just then, but as it is now."
Actor, playwright and novelist Bogosian (Perforated Heart, 2009, etc.) retells the horrors of the Turkish attempt to eradicate the Armenians: the century's first ethnic cleansing. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 21, 2015

"Candid snapshots of some truly bad days in the bleak annals of civilization."
This potpourri of pop history presents tales of bad calls and unanswered calls, of mishaps, mayhem, murder and a few innocent mistakes. Read full book review >
THE RELIGION OF DEMOCRACY by Amy Kittelstrom
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"An intellectual history that, while scholarly and broadly allusive, extends beyond the academy walls."
A young scholar's first book finds in America's 19th-century embrace of religious liberalism the seeds of modern political liberalism. Read full book review >
RAIN by Cynthia Barnett
HISTORY
Released: April 21, 2015

"Highlights the severity of some of our environmental problems with knowledge, humor, urgency and hope."
An environmental journalist returns with a multifaceted examination of the science, the art, the technology and even the smell of rain throughout history. Read full book review >
IN MONTMARTRE by Sue Roe
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Although Roe has created an informed and graceful narrative, fresh sources or insights would have greatly enriched the book."
The history of a revolutionary decade in modern art. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Sara Paretsky
author of BRUSH BACK
July 28, 2015

No one would accuse V. I. Warshawski of backing down from a fight, but there are a few she’d be happy to avoid. High on that list is tangling with Chicago political bosses. Yet that’s precisely what she ends up doing when she responds to Frank Guzzo’s plea for help in Brush Back, the latest thriller from bestselling author Sara Paretsky. For six stormy weeks back in high school, V.I. thought she was in love with Frank. He broke up with her, she went off to college, he started driving trucks for Bagby Haulage. She forgot about him until the day his mother was convicted of bludgeoning his kid sister, Annie, to death. Stella Guzzo was an angry, uncooperative prisoner and did a full 25 years for her daughter’s murder. Newly released from prison, Stella is looking for exoneration, so Frank asks V.I. for help. “Paretsky, who plots more conscientiously than anyone else in the field, digs deep, then deeper, into past and present until all is revealed,” our reviewer writes. View video >