History Book Reviews (page 4)

HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A breathtaking survey of the human mind exponentially accelerating the accumulation of knowledge, from pratfalls to ventures beyond the veil."
A selective, guided tour of the human accumulation of knowledge from American physicist and former CalTech instructor Mlodinow (Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior, 2012, etc.).Read full book review >
THE CONSTITUTION by Michael Stokes Paulsen
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A well-conceived, well-executed primer, ideal for a bright high schooler, a college student, or even the odd professor who requires a brush up on the Constitution."
A sharp, efficient guide to the creation, content, and construction of the supreme law of the land. Read full book review >

NAKED by Brian S. Hoffman
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"An original, well-researched study that would have benefited from a livelier writing style."
A history professor's sweeping sociolegal examination of the American nudist movement from its early-20th-century beginnings. Read full book review >
BROADCAST HYSTERIA by A. Brad Schwartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An entertaining assessment of a watershed moment in American life and its lasting effect on popular culture."
A skeptical look at the panic that might have been. Read full book review >
THE WRIGHT BROTHERS by David McCullough
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An educational and inspiring biography of seminal American innovators."
A charmingly pared-down life of the "boys" that grounds their dream of flight in decent character and work ethic. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Weintraub's research on the prisoners' experiences in the camps is remarkable as he narrates Judy and Frank's heroic tale."
An unusual and moving story of a singular hero among fellow POWs of the Japanese during World War II: a loyal British pointer named Judy. Read full book review >
THE INGENIOUS MR. PYKE by Henry Hemming
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fans of Graham Greene and Alan Furst will revel in this well-told true-life story."
An unlikely tale of true espionage by London-based journalist/historian Hemming (Abdulnasser Gharem: Art of Survival, 2012, etc.) in which a nerdy Jewish kid becomes a kind of James Bond.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"In addition to World War II buffs, other readers will enjoy the intrigue, back-stabbing, action, and diplomacy in this well-written book."
Attorney Jordan (Brothers, Rivals, Victors: Eisenhower, Patton, Bradley and the Partnership that Drove the Allied Conquest in Europe, 2011, etc.) delivers another page-turning chronicle of World War II.Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"An informative, readable compendium of the many fallacies of modern warfare—including the fact that the inventor of the Gatling gun thought his instrument would decrease casualties."
Six turning points in military history and American democracy. Read full book review >
DAUGHTERS OF THE SAMURAI by Janice P. Nimura
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 4, 2015

"An extraordinary, elegantly told story of the beginning of Japan's education and emancipation of its women."
Through her fascinating tapestry of history and biography, New York scholar Nimura weaves the strange, vibrant tale of an insular nation coming to terms with currents of modernism it could no longer keep out. Read full book review >
THE LOST WORLD OF THE OLD ONES by David Roberts
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 4, 2015

"For fans of all things Southwestern—not quite as robust and thoughtful as Craig Childs' House of Rain (2007) but a pleasure to read."
More travels in the Southwest of yore by outdoorsman/writer Roberts (Alone on the Ice: The Greatest Survival Story in the History of Exploration, 2013, etc.).Read full book review >
THE BILL OF RIGHTS by Carol Berkin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2015

"A highly readable American history lesson that provides a deeper understanding of the Bill of Rights, the fears that generated it and the miracle of the amendments."
Though we often take the Bill of Rights for granted, it took a monumental fight to get it approved. Berkin (History/Baruch Coll.; Wondrous Beauty: The Life and Adventures of Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte, 2014, etc.) deftly examines its passage.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
authors of OFF THE PAGE
May 19, 2015

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. In bestseller Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer’s new young adult novel, Off the Page, it’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. We talk to the mother-daughter team on Kirkus TV. View video >