History Book Reviews (page 4)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"A noble personification of the civil rights movement and an inspirational manual on instilling empowerment and possibility in today's youth."
A potent hybrid of prideful memoir and galvanizing guidebook derived from lectures on race and education. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"Despite a little confusion regarding the movements of divisions and brigades, this is a fascinating, detailed, and generously illustrated description of the battle that changed the fate of 19th-century Europe."
In his first nonfiction book, acclaimed historical novelist Cornwell (The Empty Throne, 2015, etc.) employs his storytelling skills to bring military history out of the textbook.Read full book review >

POTSDAM by Michael Neiberg
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fills a hitherto surprisingly empty niche in the World War II library."
A military historian analyzes the significance of the final conference of the World War II allies. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A breathtaking survey of the human mind exponentially accelerating the accumulation of knowledge, from pratfalls to ventures beyond the veil."
A selective, guided tour of the human accumulation of knowledge from American physicist and former CalTech instructor Mlodinow (Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior, 2012, etc.).Read full book review >
THE CONSTITUTION by Michael Stokes Paulsen
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A well-conceived, well-executed primer, ideal for a bright high schooler, a college student, or even the odd professor who requires a brush up on the Constitution."
A sharp, efficient guide to the creation, content, and construction of the supreme law of the land. Read full book review >

NAKED by Brian S. Hoffman
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"An original, well-researched study that would have benefited from a livelier writing style."
A history professor's sweeping sociolegal examination of the American nudist movement from its early-20th-century beginnings. Read full book review >
BROADCAST HYSTERIA by A. Brad Schwartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An entertaining assessment of a watershed moment in American life and its lasting effect on popular culture."
A skeptical look at the panic that might have been. Read full book review >
THE WRIGHT BROTHERS by David McCullough
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An educational and inspiring biography of seminal American innovators."
A charmingly pared-down life of the "boys" that grounds their dream of flight in decent character and work ethic. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Weintraub's research on the prisoners' experiences in the camps is remarkable as he narrates Judy and Frank's heroic tale."
An unusual and moving story of a singular hero among fellow POWs of the Japanese during World War II: a loyal British pointer named Judy. Read full book review >
THE INGENIOUS MR. PYKE by Henry Hemming
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fans of Graham Greene and Alan Furst will revel in this well-told true-life story."
An unlikely tale of true espionage by London-based journalist/historian Hemming (Abdulnasser Gharem: Art of Survival, 2012, etc.) in which a nerdy Jewish kid becomes a kind of James Bond.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"In addition to World War II buffs, other readers will enjoy the intrigue, back-stabbing, action, and diplomacy in this well-written book."
Attorney Jordan (Brothers, Rivals, Victors: Eisenhower, Patton, Bradley and the Partnership that Drove the Allied Conquest in Europe, 2011, etc.) delivers another page-turning chronicle of World War II.Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"An informative, readable compendium of the many fallacies of modern warfare—including the fact that the inventor of the Gatling gun thought his instrument would decrease casualties."
Six turning points in military history and American democracy. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >