History Book Reviews (page 928)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"As satisfying as a platter of kielbasi and pierogi—and without all the fat."
Not a full-fledged life but, rather, the last decade or so in the on-going adventures of the portly, apple-cheeked forklift- repairman and Nobel Prize laureate who triggered the collapse of the Communist empire. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"A provocative survey of literary journalism, then, that's too ready to overlook the fact that genuine breakthroughs in thought are seldom achieved through compromise."
A prescription for the insular excesses of contemporary criticism that goes wrong as early as its title, since Dickstein (Gates of Eden, 1989—not reviewed) never explores the metaphor of critics as agents of two opposed powers, professing allegiances they do not feel. Read full book review >

CITIZEN KOCH by Edward I. Koch
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"Testy as ever, with some juicy dish and a few good spite stories you can cheer. (Sixteen-page photo insert—not seen.)"
After Mayor, Politics, and All the Best—three works that would surely have worn out the ``I'' key on an old-fashioned typewriter—what more has New York's cantankerous former mayor to say? Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"An intellectual update from a profound thinker whose voice enhances the art and culture he contemplates. (Thirteen illustrations—not seen.)"
Sixteen philosophical essays (most previously published in academic journals) that, in the vein of Encounters and Reflections (1990), wrestle with questions of art by the critic who contends that Andy Warhol brought Western art history to an end. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 31, 1992

"As one unfortunate consequence, what evidently was meant to be a hard-hitting exposÇ comes off as a halfhearted hatchet job."
A damned-with-faint-praise report on George Bush from Time magazine's White House correspondents. Read full book review >

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 31, 1992

"That these oft-deprecated virtues obviously helped him through some very rough times represents the most important message of this low-key testament. (Illustrations, including facsimiles of journal entries smuggled out of Iran.)"
The personal journal of the highest-ranking US envoy to be interned during the 444-day siege that became known as the Iran Hostage Crisis. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 24, 1992

"A thorough and significant contribution to Civil War scholarship."
From rare-book dealer Parrish, an engaging and exhaustively researched biography of an important and intriguing, though rarely studied, Confederate leader. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 20, 1992

"Not very incisive in analyzing the war's military significance, but highly colorful in depicting Americans in the blood-roar of nationalism. (B&w photos, maps—not seen.)"
A popular history of the ship whose sinking propelled the US into the Spanish-American War—and into a new, uncomfortable role as an overseas empire. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 19, 1992

"The additions here, then, hardly transfigure (or even much enlarge) the earlier edition—but many of the stories, especially the Pound and Eliot ones, remain honeys."
Hall (Here at Eagle Pond, 1990, etc.) has updated his 1977 book of literary gossip—memories, anecdotes, psychoanalytic clues- -beyond the original quartet of subjects: Dylan Thomas, Frost, Eliot, and Pound. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 19, 1992

"Twelve thousand Jewish soldiers fought and died for the Kaiser during WW I. A perfect bar mitzvah gift—and, one hopes, of interest to non-Jews too—Gay's book rescues a long and variegated history from the dark shadow of recent events."
The history of Jews in Germany begins with the third century A.D., when a settlement at Cologne was paying taxes to the Emperor Constantine. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 18, 1992

"A splendid and horrifying romp through the culverts of modern history. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs—not seen.)"
What can a celebrated fashion designer tell you about the history of Germany's Third Reich? Read full book review >
A BOY NO MORE by Paxton Davis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 15, 1992

"An autobiography that is exactly what it means to be—and no more. (B&w photos.)"
Third and final installment in a series (A Boy's War, 1990; Being a Boy, 1988) about Davis's youth. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >