THE UNLUCKY LOTTERY WINNERS OF CLASSROOM 13 by Honest Lee

THE UNLUCKY LOTTERY WINNERS OF CLASSROOM 13

From the "Classroom 13" series, volume 1
Age Range: 8 - 12
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

What would you do if you won the lottery?

Ms. Linda LaCrosse is a very unlucky person. She puts too much milk on her toast and too much butter in her coffee. She is the teacher in Classroom 13, with 27 students. On this particularly unlucky Wednesday, she decides to use a lottery ticket to spice up her math lessons and promises to split her earnings evenly with every single student. The prize for this lottery is $28 billion. And Ms. Linda is the only winner. In a sure storyteller’s voice, the remaining chapters of the book relate the misfortunes the students experience after claiming their billion-dollar prizes. Lily Lin, who has always wanted to be an astronaut, buys NASA. Dev hires the best video game designers so he can live in a virtual-reality world. Ximena brings the wonders of the world to her ailing grandmother. Though each idea seems appealing, there’s a catch. The diverse cast, including kids with disabilities, is appreciated, although stereotypes do appear. Dreidemy’s absurd and cheeky illustrations depict the myriad ways that money does not buy happiness. The short, easy-to-read chapters and wry humor will appeal to fans of Captain Underpants and Wayside School. As this is but the first in a series, this interesting classroom of characters will soon meet another unlucky fate in the next book.

The ongoing hardships of Classroom 13 hammer home teachable moments with humor. (Fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: June 6th, 2017
ISBN: 978-0-316-46465-9
Page count: 128pp
Publisher: Little, Brown
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15th, 2017




MORE BY JOELLE DREIDEMY

ChildrenPHOEBE G. GREEN by Veera Hiranandani
by Veera Hiranandani
ChildrenTHE LAMB WHO CAME FOR DINNER by Steve Smallman
by Steve Smallman

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenWAYSIDE SCHOOL IS FALLING DOWN by Louis Sachar
by Louis Sachar
AdultCAPTAIN UNDERPANTS by Dav Pilkey
by Dav Pilkey