Horror Book Reviews (page 3)

BROOD by Chase Novak
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Novak ably combines realism and the supernatural, even if the result is sometimes too preposterous even for suspenders of disbelief."
Feral children, the result of fertility treatments gone horribly awry, roam the streets of Manhattan in Novak's hit-or-miss follow-up to Breed (2012).Read full book review >
The Holy Innocents and Other Stories by Joan Carol Bird
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 5, 2014

"An offbeat set of horror stories that impart subtle, rather than raw, shocks."
Short story writer Bird (Nightmare and Nostalgia,2013) offers five tales of the fantastic, most involving haunted (or haunting) females. Read full book review >

ASBURY DARK by Lori Bonfitto
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Short stories for readers who like their horror tales diverting and diverse."
In Bonfitto's (The Lineman, 2013, etc.) horror collection, Asbury Park, New Jersey, provides the setting for seven strange, spooky stories.Read full book review >
HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"An engaging introduction to what, Lindal says, is a world just outside our grasp."
Fictionalized account of one soul's discovery of the spiritual self. Read full book review >

FALL OF NIGHT by Jonathan Maberry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"The end of the world as we know it, complete with 24-style dialogue and enough oozy bits to make Tom Savini queasy."
The apocalypse goes viral in the sequel to the gorefest Dead of Night (2011) as a viral outbreak and a hurricane wreak havoc on Stebbins, Pennsylvania.Read full book review >
QUALIA NOUS by Michael Bailey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 31, 2014

"An accomplished collection of masterfully crafted horror from some of the genre's finest practitioners."
Bailey (Chiral Mad, 2013, etc.) edits this sci-fi/horror anthology of fiction and poetry. Read full book review >
THE HAUNTED TRAIL by John C Lukegord
Released: Aug. 27, 2014

"A grisly story with too few scares and far too many genre elements."
Lukegord (The Haunted Trail, 2013) tosses every horror trope imaginable into this sequel. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF SMALL SHADOWS by Adam Nevill
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 15, 2014

"Nevill's talent for horror resonates ominously in every scene, almost as if the theme from Jaws echoes when a page is turned."
British horror author Nevill (Last Days, 2013, etc.) goes hard-core modern gothic when he sends a fragile woman to a derelict estate filled with bizarre treasures. Read full book review >
The Stowaway by Clyde Edwards
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 13, 2014

"A debut horror novel about demonic possession that breathes new life into an old theme."
In Edwards' debut horror novel, a ship's captain discovers a mysterious orb that gradually infuses him with a malevolent personality.In Boston of 1808, young Kit Cabot toils away as a clerk for his family's shipping company while dreaming of adventure on the high seas. Read full book review >
THE BIRD ROOM by Chad Hofmann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2014

"Hard-core horror and sci-fi readers will likely enjoy the more original tales in this story collection."
A collection of 17 horror, sci-fi and paranormal tales that, at their best, recall The Twilight Zone and Tales from the Crypt.Hofmann (Helena, 2012) calls this book "a showcase of how my writing has evolved." Read full book review >
MR. MERCEDES by Stephen King
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 3, 2014

"The scariest thing of all is to imagine King writing a happy children's book. This isn't it: It's nicely dark, never predictable and altogether entertaining."
In his latest suspenser, the prolific King (Joyland, 2013, etc.) returns to the theme of the scary car—except this one has a scary driver who's as loony but logical unto himself as old Jack Torrance from The Shining. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Ace Atkins
June 2, 2015

P.I. Spenser, knight-errant of the Back Bay, returns in Kickback, the latest in the iconic New York Times–bestselling series from author Ace Atkins. What started out as a joke landed 17-year-old Dillon Yates in a lockdown juvenile facility in Boston Harbor. When he set up a prank Twitter account for his vice principal, he never dreamed he could be brought up on criminal charges, but that’s exactly what happened. This is Blackburn, Massachusetts, where zero tolerance for minors is a way of life. Leading the movement is tough-as-nails Judge Joe Scali, who gives speeches about getting tough on today’s wild youth. But Dillon’s mother, who knows other Blackburn kids who are doing hard time for minor infractions, isn’t buying Scali’s line. She hires Spenser to find the truth behind the draconian sentencing. “It’s great to see Spenser tackle a social evil with its roots in real life,” our reviewer writes. View video >

{# End Google Remarketing Tag #} {# Quantcast Tag #} {# End Quantcast tag #}