Horror Book Reviews (page 3)

THE GIRL EATER by Bill Cooke
Released: Oct. 29, 2014

"Reads like an introduction to something bigger; fans partial to epic apocalyptic thrillers should keep an eye out."
In Cooke's debut thriller, copycat murders that seem to be emulating the work of a serial killer culminate in lethal riots in the Texas Hill Country, leading the few survivors no choice but to fend for themselves. Read full book review >
A COLLECTION OF ANGELS by Jesse Budi
Released: Oct. 18, 2014

"An undeniably disturbing, reverberating story that will make some cringe and others gag."
A swim at the docks for two young brothers becomes a hellish ordeal when they accept an invitation from the wrong people in Budi's debut horror novel. Read full book review >

THE BOY WHO KILLED DEMONS by Dave Zeltserman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 16, 2014

"Zeltserman has written an entertaining novel but not one that will keep you from turning off the lights."
Humor outweighs the horror in this amusing look at a 15-year-old saving the world. Read full book review >
THREE HUNDRED MILLION by Blake Butler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"A graphic horror story that aspires to repel its readers."
A police detective attempts to deconstruct the ruined mind of a mass murderer. Maybe. Read full book review >
WITHERED HOSTS by Scott Bisig
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"This intelligent, psychologically acute and truly spooky ghost story is an entertaining, impressive debut."
After tragedy strikes a young family, the survivors move to a new, creepy apartment, and they're haunted by more than just their grief. Read full book review >

A CRIME AND A CURSE by Vincent Macraven
Released: Oct. 10, 2014

"A ghastly detective story and a macabre parable that should accommodate genre fans with a nightmare or two."
Macraven's (Testament of the Dead, 2014, etc.) latest horror outing is a two-story collection that delves into the dark hearts of people whose depravity includes murder and black magic. Read full book review >
HELL'S GATES by Mary Masters
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"Alive with a devilish plot, the book takes a satisfying, twisted journey into evil."
From debut author Masters comes a novel about the sinister side of a small town and the local sheriff's attempts to uncover the truth. Read full book review >
THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A sterling example of the new breed of horror: unnerving and internal with just the right number of bumps in the night."
What happens when the monsters under the bed come from the boy sleeping on top of it? Read full book review >
BROOD by Chase Novak
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Novak ably combines realism and the supernatural, even if the result is sometimes too preposterous even for suspenders of disbelief."
Feral children, the result of fertility treatments gone horribly awry, roam the streets of Manhattan in Novak's hit-or-miss follow-up to Breed (2012).Read full book review >
The Holy Innocents and Other Stories by Joan Carol Bird
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 5, 2014

"An offbeat set of horror stories that impart subtle, rather than raw, shocks."
Short story writer Bird (Nightmare and Nostalgia,2013) offers five tales of the fantastic, most involving haunted (or haunting) females. Read full book review >
ASBURY DARK by Lori Bonfitto
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Short stories for readers who like their horror tales diverting and diverse."
In Bonfitto's (The Lineman, 2013, etc.) horror collection, Asbury Park, New Jersey, provides the setting for seven strange, spooky stories.Read full book review >
HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Libba Bray
author of LAIR OF DREAMS
August 25, 2015

In Lair of Dreams, the second installment of Libba Bray’s bestselling young adult Diviners series, after a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities....Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer? “Weaving together a chilling mystery with a truly elusive solution, several poignant love stories, agonizing injustice, terrifyingly monstrous dreams, and even a cameo by legendary psychiatrist Carl Jung, this installment wraps enough up to satisfy but clearly sets the stage for more,” our reviewer writes in a rare starred review. “How will readers stand the wait?” View video >