Horror Book Reviews (page 5)

HELL'S GATES by Mary Masters
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"Alive with a devilish plot, the book takes a satisfying, twisted journey into evil."
From debut author Masters comes a novel about the sinister side of a small town and the local sheriff's attempts to uncover the truth. Read full book review >
THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A sterling example of the new breed of horror: unnerving and internal with just the right number of bumps in the night."
What happens when the monsters under the bed come from the boy sleeping on top of it? Read full book review >

BROOD by Chase Novak
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Novak ably combines realism and the supernatural, even if the result is sometimes too preposterous even for suspenders of disbelief."
Feral children, the result of fertility treatments gone horribly awry, roam the streets of Manhattan in Novak's hit-or-miss follow-up to Breed (2012).Read full book review >
The Holy Innocents and Other Stories by Joan Carol Bird
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 5, 2014

"An offbeat set of horror stories that impart subtle, rather than raw, shocks."
Short story writer Bird (Nightmare and Nostalgia,2013) offers five tales of the fantastic, most involving haunted (or haunting) females. Read full book review >
ASBURY DARK by Lori Bonfitto
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Short stories for readers who like their horror tales diverting and diverse."
In Bonfitto's (The Lineman, 2013, etc.) horror collection, Asbury Park, New Jersey, provides the setting for seven strange, spooky stories.Read full book review >

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"An engaging introduction to what, Lindal says, is a world just outside our grasp."
Fictionalized account of one soul's discovery of the spiritual self. Read full book review >
HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >
FALL OF NIGHT by Jonathan Maberry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"The end of the world as we know it, complete with 24-style dialogue and enough oozy bits to make Tom Savini queasy."
The apocalypse goes viral in the sequel to the gorefest Dead of Night (2011) as a viral outbreak and a hurricane wreak havoc on Stebbins, Pennsylvania.Read full book review >
QUALIA NOUS by Michael Bailey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 31, 2014

"An accomplished collection of masterfully crafted horror from some of the genre's finest practitioners."
Bailey (Chiral Mad, 2013, etc.) edits this sci-fi/horror anthology of fiction and poetry. Read full book review >
THE HAUNTED TRAIL by John C. Lukegord
Released: Aug. 27, 2014

"A grisly story with too few scares and far too many genre elements."
Lukegord (The Haunted Trail, 2013) tosses every horror trope imaginable into this sequel. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF SMALL SHADOWS by Adam Nevill
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 15, 2014

"Nevill's talent for horror resonates ominously in every scene, almost as if the theme from Jaws echoes when a page is turned."
British horror author Nevill (Last Days, 2013, etc.) goes hard-core modern gothic when he sends a fragile woman to a derelict estate filled with bizarre treasures. Read full book review >
The Stowaway by Clyde Edwards
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 13, 2014

"A debut horror novel about demonic possession that breathes new life into an old theme."
In Edwards' debut horror novel, a ship's captain discovers a mysterious orb that gradually infuses him with a malevolent personality. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Emma Straub
author of MODERN LOVERS
May 30, 2016

In Emma Straub’s new novel Modern Lovers, friends and former college bandmates Elizabeth and Andrew and Zoe have watched one another marry, buy real estate, and start businesses and families, all while trying to hold on to the identities of their youth. But nothing ages them like having to suddenly pass the torch (of sexuality, independence, and the ineffable alchemy of cool) to their own offspring. Back in the band’s heyday, Elizabeth put on a snarl over her Midwestern smile, Andrew let his unwashed hair grow past his chin, and Zoe was the lesbian all the straight women wanted to sleep with. Now nearing fifty, they all live within shouting distance in the same neighborhood deep in gentrified Brooklyn, and the trappings of the adult world seem to have arrived with ease. But the summer that their children reach maturity (and start sleeping together), the fabric of the adult lives suddenly begins to unravel, and the secrets and revelations that are finally let loose—about themselves, and about the famous fourth band member who soared and fell without them—can never be reclaimed. “Straub’s characters are a quirky and interesting bunch, well aware of their own good fortune, and it’s a pleasure spending time with them in leafy Ditmas Park,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. View video >