Horror Book Reviews (page 5)

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"An engaging introduction to what, Lindal says, is a world just outside our grasp."
Fictionalized account of one soul's discovery of the spiritual self. Read full book review >
HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >

FALL OF NIGHT by Jonathan Maberry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"The end of the world as we know it, complete with 24-style dialogue and enough oozy bits to make Tom Savini queasy."
The apocalypse goes viral in the sequel to the gorefest Dead of Night (2011) as a viral outbreak and a hurricane wreak havoc on Stebbins, Pennsylvania.Read full book review >
QUALIA NOUS by Michael Bailey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 31, 2014

"An accomplished collection of masterfully crafted horror from some of the genre's finest practitioners."
Bailey (Chiral Mad, 2013, etc.) edits this sci-fi/horror anthology of fiction and poetry. Read full book review >
THE HAUNTED TRAIL by John C. Lukegord
Released: Aug. 27, 2014

"A grisly story with too few scares and far too many genre elements."
Lukegord (The Haunted Trail, 2013) tosses every horror trope imaginable into this sequel. Read full book review >

THE HOUSE OF SMALL SHADOWS by Adam Nevill
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 15, 2014

"Nevill's talent for horror resonates ominously in every scene, almost as if the theme from Jaws echoes when a page is turned."
British horror author Nevill (Last Days, 2013, etc.) goes hard-core modern gothic when he sends a fragile woman to a derelict estate filled with bizarre treasures. Read full book review >
The Stowaway by Clyde Edwards
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 13, 2014

"A debut horror novel about demonic possession that breathes new life into an old theme."
In Edwards' debut horror novel, a ship's captain discovers a mysterious orb that gradually infuses him with a malevolent personality. Read full book review >
THE BIRD ROOM by Chad Hofmann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2014

"Hard-core horror and sci-fi readers will likely enjoy the more original tales in this story collection."
A collection of 17 horror, sci-fi and paranormal tales that, at their best, recall The Twilight Zone and Tales from the Crypt. Read full book review >
MR. MERCEDES by Stephen King
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 3, 2014

"The scariest thing of all is to imagine King writing a happy children's book. This isn't it: It's nicely dark, never predictable and altogether entertaining."
In his latest suspenser, the prolific King (Joyland, 2013, etc.) returns to the theme of the scary car—except this one has a scary driver who's as loony but logical unto himself as old Jack Torrance from The Shining. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 28, 2014

"An inventive, delectable take on Stoker's classic."
In Wagar's (An American in Vienna, 2011) historical horror novel, detectives in 1896 Transylvania suspect that the enigmatic Count Dracula is responsible for numerous disappearances in the area. Read full book review >
Orion Poe and the Lost Explorer by Will  Summerhouse
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 19, 2014

"A wild, imaginative adventure that explores the ends of the world."
Summerhouse's debut is a charming children's story of adventure and mystery in the least likely of places. Read full book review >
Vampires In The Vatican by Stephen James Burch
Released: May 14, 2014

"Lord maketh darkness, just as He maketh the light.'"
In Burch's (Angels and Vampires, 2013) horror novel, a conflict boils over at the Vatican, where the ranks of evil have learned to blend in with the good. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Marilu Henner
author of CHANGING NORMAL
April 26, 2016

After they’d been dating only a short while, and as they were falling in love, Marilu Henner and Michael Brown were hit with the ultimate bad news: Michael was diagnosed with cancer. Refusing traditional care, they pieced together a personal and holistic view on battling his cancer, all while forging an unbreakable bond. In this moving and informative book, Marilu pulls back the curtain on how they dealt with the blow. She relates her holistic perspective on health—including the superfoods, exercises, and immunotherapy they used to fight back—and why a diagnosis doesn’t have to be the end of romance or of a happy and fulfilling life. “An inspiring love story wrapped in a serious call for new ways to treat disease,” our reviewer writes. View video >