Indie Book Reviews (page 4)

EDGER by David  Beem
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2018

"Outlandish, hectic, and sometimes illogical but undeniably entertaining."
An average Joe has a chance to be a superhero and face off against a supervillain—using tech that may be deadly to the user—in Beem's (Abyss of Chaos, 2011) offbeat comedy.Read full book review >
DEADLY FOCUS by Sue  Hinkin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2018

"An exciting series opener that delivers murder, drugs, and romance."
Chasing the truth about her uncle's death, a gutsy television news photographer uncovers corruption and finds love in this debut thriller. Read full book review >

THE MADNESS OF GRIEF by Panayotis  Cacoyannis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2018

"A well-written, richly complicated, and deeply engaging coming-of-age tale."
In this literary novel set in England, a teenager learns startling revelations about people close to her. Read full book review >
EVOLUTION OF DESIRE by Cynthia L. Haven
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2018

"A penetrating account of an important thinker—and as agile, profound, and affecting as its subject."
A biography provides a portrait of French theorist René Girard. Read full book review >
VERONICA MARS by Merrick  Green
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2018

"An admirable tie-in that gives its protagonist all the qualities that made her indelible on TV more than a decade ago."
Whip-smart teen detective Veronica Mars does some off-the-books gumshoeing for a friend in Green's debut mystery, inspired by the cult mid-2000s TV series. Read full book review >

NIXON IN NEW YORK by Victor  Li
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2018

"An engaging and well-written book that illuminates Nixon through the exploration of the midpoint of his career."
A biography of Richard Nixon focuses on his years at a New York law firm before running for president. Read full book review >
BURLESQUES ON THE SECRET BOOK OF JOHN by Egon H.E.  Lass
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2018

"A droll and challenging verse exploration of a seldom-read religious tale."
A collection of poetry presents a sendup of an unusual creation story. Read full book review >
FIRST GENERATION by Bev Zachary
Released: March 30, 2018

"A captivating anatomy of religious conversion."
A couple who worked as Christian missionaries in Nepal deliver a debut collection of remembrances. Read full book review >
DEMON KING by Erik Henry  Vick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 30, 2018

"A supernatural thriller with several surprising and satisfying twists."
Troubling disappearances and violent murders rock a small town in this horror novel. Read full book review >
RUNWAY DREAMS by T.K.  Ambers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 29, 2018

"An often intriguing debut that may appeal to fans of Nora Roberts or Jayne Ann Krentz."
A successful model discovers that her new husband may be hiding a dangerous secret life in this romantic thriller. Read full book review >
MEET ME IN THE STRANGE by Leander Watts
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 27, 2018

"A bighearted and imaginative tale about a glam god's fans."
Two teenagers find salvation in each other in this music-tinged YA sci-fi novel. Read full book review >
THE SNOW WHITE EFFECT by A.K.  Mills
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2018

"A compassionate but excessively slow cancer story."
Mills' (The Parts That Followed, 2014, etc.) third novel uses four interweaving narratives to tell the story of mysterious medical malpractice at Kendal Slate Memorial Hospital.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >