Indie Book Reviews (page 5)

DEMON KING by Erik Henry  Vick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 30, 2018

"A supernatural thriller with several surprising and satisfying twists."
Troubling disappearances and violent murders rock a small town in this horror novel. Read full book review >
CITY OF SHARDS by Steve  Rodgers
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 30, 2018

"An exhilarating tale for fans of sword and sorcery, fantasy, and rich worldbuilding."
Ostracized for his uncontrollable, three-word outbursts, a boy comes of age in a realm filled with magic, evil, and warring gods in this debut novel. Read full book review >

KINGDOMS IN THE MARSH by Robert F.  Lackey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 30, 2018

"An action-packed period piece with two fully developed central characters and a strong supporting cast."
In this fourth series installment, Lackey (Raven's Risk, 2017, etc.) continues tracing the joys, losses, and adventures of a nautical family that lives beside a canal near the Susquehanna River. Read full book review >
RUNWAY DREAMS by T.K.  Ambers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 29, 2018

"An often intriguing debut that may appeal to fans of Nora Roberts or Jayne Ann Krentz."
A successful model discovers that her new husband may be hiding a dangerous secret life in this romantic thriller. Read full book review >
MEET ME IN THE STRANGE by Leander Watts
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 27, 2018

"A bighearted and imaginative tale about a glam god's fans."
Two teenagers find salvation in each other in this music-tinged YA sci-fi novel. Read full book review >

THE SNOW WHITE EFFECT by A.K.  Mills
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2018

"A compassionate but excessively slow cancer story."
Mills' (The Parts That Followed, 2014, etc.) third novel uses four interweaving narratives to tell the story of mysterious medical malpractice at Kendal Slate Memorial Hospital.Read full book review >
JESUS AND MUHAMMAD by Louis  St Michael
Released: March 27, 2018

"An exhaustive compilation of immense theological value, especially as a prologue to future study."
A debut book compares the teachings of Jesus and Muhammad. Read full book review >
THE BONE CURSE by Carrie Rubin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2018

"A tense, perceptive tale of an investigation into a terrifying threat."
In Rubin's (Eating Bull, 2015, etc.) thriller, a medical student's friends and acquaintances become mysteriously, deathly ill—possibly due to a curse. Read full book review >
INCONCLUSIVE EVIDENCE by Reily  Garrett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 26, 2018

"A playful, well-researched thriller that remains romantically genuine throughout."
This third volume of a series finds a family of lawmen—and a veterinarian—trying to thwart a scheme to manipulate the populace with microchips. Read full book review >
BONNIE AND CLYDE by Clark Hays
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 24, 2018

"A crisply written, well-researched, and thoroughly entertaining romance/thriller/mystery."
In this crime-fiction sequel, legendary criminals Bonnie and Clyde go undercover to prevent a landmark dam from being blown up before it's completed. Read full book review >
LOOKING FOR DEI by David A. Willson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 23, 2018

"A familiar but enjoyable fantasy with an intriguing heroine."
Two magical friends seek their destinies in this debut YA novel. Read full book review >
TAKING ON LUCINDA by Frank  Martorana
NON-FICTION
Released: March 22, 2018

"A vet with investigative chops and his loyal coonhound make an appealing duo in this origin story."
In this debut thriller, a fire destroys the research wing of a rural upstate New York cosmetic corporation's headquarters, casting suspicion on the animal rights activists who recently protested at the company. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >