Indie Book Reviews (page 592)

THE DREAMTUNNEL SEQUENCE by Mark E. Lacy
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Solid writing and a twisting plot make for a decent high-fantasy debut."
Two warriors unexpectedly touched by sorcery go on separate quests in an attempt to defeat a great evil. Read full book review >
INTERSECTION by Nancy Ann Healy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Though bumpy at times, this welcome addition to the crime-fiction genre features a refreshingly new type of heroine."
In this law enforcement procedural much in the vein of William J. Caunitz and Bill Pronzini, two FBI agents are assigned to protect a congressman who's getting threatening letters. Read full book review >

Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"A colorful keepsake album about angels all around us."
An illustrated guidebook to supernatural beings in what the author calls "Hidden Realms." Read full book review >
The Beagle and the Brain Tumor by Deon Lock Maas
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"For anyone who has dealt with the loss of a loved one and found comfort in unexpected places, Maas' honest, touching account will feel welcomingly familiar."
Deon Lock Maas makes her bittersweet debut with a memoir about caring for her terminally ill husband with the help of a mischievous beagle. Read full book review >
GOOD GONE BAD by Susan Mills Wilson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Like the best noir, this story puts its characters through an emotional wringer and makes the reader feel their desperation, too."
In Wilson's debut novel, a woman finds herself torn between two lovers, one of whom just so happens to be a murderer. Read full book review >

WISDOMS TO LIVE BY by David Tanner
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"An often amusing collection of linguistic anecdotes, and a light, informative read."
Tanner's (Igniting Innovation through the Power of Creative Thinking, 2008, etc.) latest book provides detailed histories and poignant behavioral applications of dozens of proverbs. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"The author argues effectively that Madero's manual is essential to understanding his revolutionary zeal."
An introduction to and translation of Mexican revolutionary Francisco Madero's Spiritist Manual.Read full book review >
THE TRIAL OF PHILLIS WHEATLEY by Ronald B. Wheatley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Classic American history theater for readers who are weary of The Crucible and Inherit the Wind."
In his debut play, Wheatley (A Song of Africa, 2011) illuminates the life of an African-American poet and explores both colonists' and slaves' desires for liberty. Read full book review >
Brain Sculpting by Donald Dafoe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Secret drug trials, back-stabbings, and unnatural death: fundamentals for an electrifying tale.
"
The Center for Aesthetics in California hopes to introduce a drug that can cure post-surgical patients' neuroses, but it's a murder that sends doctors into a tailspin in Dafoe's debut thriller. Read full book review >
CONFESSIONS OF A MOTION ADDICT by Stephen Petronio
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 22, 2014

"A choreographer's wild stories and engaging insights into love, life and artistic practice."
A candid memoir of misadventures and modern dance. Read full book review >
KANA'S QUEST by Anthony Ray Olheiser
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 22, 2014

"While it needs more depth, the world laid out in this book promises an entertaining series to come."
White Witch Kana brings himself to earth to teach a group of young men and women to fight back against the devil. Read full book review >
ZENDOSCOPY by J. Allan Wolf
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 22, 2014

"A respectable batch of entertaining anecdotes, mostly bawdy and occasionally moving, mixed with moments of human connection and philosophical musing."
In this memoirlike novel, a self-described nerd fond of ham radio and the accordion comes of age in the 1950s and '60s. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >