Indie Book Reviews (page 592)

THE GUARDIANS OF TIME by Damian Lawrence
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 2011

"Lawrence does a masterful job of drawing readers into his fully realized, morally complex vision of the future."
Lawrence's debut balances adventure, mystery, science, religion and morality. Read full book review >
AUTUMN COLORS by Dawn Lajeunesse
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 2011

"The men in Kerry's life try to break down her barriers, a journey which can be trying for readers but is ultimately worth experiencing."
When a woman learns that a family friend has died, her return to her hometown for the funeral reopens wounds from years before—will she ever be free of the ghosts from her past and truly enjoy her present? Read full book review >

VENGEANCE IS SACRED by Peter Healy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 2011

"A multilayered historical fictionpacked with action, suspense, magic and romance—great reading for general readers and literati alike."
Healy's debut historical novel is a study of the delicate difference between revenge and justice. Read full book review >
RELIGION
Released: March 20, 2011

"A calm, supportive manual for dealing with life's chaos, whether you're Celtic or not."
A Celtic-themed self-help guide offering empowerment lessons through verse. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: March 20, 2011

"A slim, basic but solid activity and conversation book for teachers looking for direction in their English as a Foreign Language classes."
Roth and Aberson return with the next installment of their Compelling Conversations series (Compelling Conversations: Questions and Quotations on Timeless Topics, 2007), presenting conversation topics, activity ideas and interesting quotes for Vietnamese students of the English language. Read full book review >

CLEANSING BY FIRE by Y.S. Hassan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 19, 2011

"A boisterous but oddly claustrophobic sword-and-sorcery epic."
In Hassan's fantasy thriller, that most hellish of settings, an office, is the arena for a duel between a young superhero and his demonic opponents. Read full book review >
THE ELEPHANT CAGE by Bert Tarrant
Released: March 19, 2011

"Outlandish but exciting entertainment for fans of technology, geopolitics and even romance."
A teenager-against-the-world techno-thriller about a young Alaskan hacker and his battle with Russia after a nuclear strike on the United States. Read full book review >
Released: March 19, 2011

"This may be a nuts-and-bolts primer on fashioning the architecture and words for your marriage, but Reid keeps it sweet as the cake and smooth as the silk."
A how-to guide for choosing the words that mean the most to you for your wedding ceremony, as well as designing the event. Read full book review >
A YEAR OF MADNESS by G. Franklin Prue
Released: March 17, 2011

"Opens strong, but loses its way and becomes a cookie-cutter revenge story."
A revenge tale set against the backdrop of the civil rights movement and the crime-ridden streets of the U.S. capital. Read full book review >
Released: March 16, 2011

"Lichtman should be commended for taking on this oft-debated issue; ethics in politics is the proverbial needle in the haystack, which will, no doubt, continue to be a hot topic for years to come."
An ethical look at three controversial, influential political commentators. Read full book review >
THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >
Released: March 16, 2011

"Even with a few weak points, this book is a good addition to the anti-bullying genre."
In Jay's picture book, a boy with a tremendous name battles bullies, with help from his grandfather. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >