Indie Book Reviews (page 592)

FROM DUST TO DIAMONDS by David Oreck
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Practical inspiration for hardworking entrepreneurs."
His brand of vacuum cleaners became a trusted household name, and now Oreck sweeps onto the how-to scene with timeless, common-sense advice for business startups. Read full book review >
FOLLOW THE MONEY by Ruben Alvarado
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"A highly readable disentangling of currency's past and present."
Alvarado, in his debut, offers a detailed study of money and financial concepts through the ages. Read full book review >

Hideous Exuberance by Stephen C. Bird
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"Fast-paced, lewd and extremely unconventional short stories that may appeal to fans of Mark Danielewski and David Foster Wallace."
A collection of hyperenergetic, scatological, stream-of-consciousness short stories. Read full book review >
Dreams from the Past by J.R. Albrecht
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"An excess of plot threads and unclear narrative priorities hamper Albrecht's otherwise well-structured, engaging novel."
Dreams, time travel, the Civil War, criminal intrigue and more collide in Albrecht's debut, genre-spanning adventure. Read full book review >
The Year I Lived in my Car by Anya Peters
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"A homeless blogger's moving search for salvation."
Collected blog entries from Peters (Abandoned, 2009), who, in 2005, became homeless. Read full book review >

FOR THE WONDER by George Tolos
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"While full of colorful period details from the Eisenhower era and evidence of the importance of the military, this boy's story lacks a coherent or compelling approach."
First-time author Tolos offers a coming-of-age story set during the Korean War years about an orphaned boy reared in a household and town full of secrets and lies. Read full book review >
Storming Back to Key West by Jane F. Collen
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"With help from two sparkly and spunky Elbow Fairies, this action-packed yarn deftly melds fairy-tale magic with real-life history."
In Collen's (Enjella Uprooted, 2012) witty, fact-based fantasy adventure, a brother and sister magically travel to the year 1835, where they weather a violent storm and help a lighthouse keeper save a ship at sea. Read full book review >
THE SOFTWARE SOCIETY by William Meisel
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"A useful analysis of developments in human-technology relationships, combining research and personal reflections."
An entrepreneur and voice-technology expert reflects on growing human-computer connections and the implications for cultural evolution, the economy and what it means to be human. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"An inspiring guide to understanding and riding horses."
A riding instructor shares her observations on the relationships between horses and humans as she walks readers through the basics of her unique riding program for adults. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 30, 2013

"The heartfelt reclamation of a man who's been to and returned from emotional, chemical and sexual hell."
A troubled man from the Pacific Northwest grapples with sex and drug addiction in this candid, auspicious debut memoir. Read full book review >
Cliff Diver by Carmen Amato
Released: Jan. 30, 2013

"A clever Mexican detective tale that will leave readers eager for the series' next installment."
Emilia Cruz, Acapulco's first-ever female detective, investigates a police lieutenant's murder and tracks down counterfeit bills in the second installment of Amato's (Made In Acapulco, 2012) mystery series. Read full book review >
KILL CRAZY GANG by Jeffery S. King
Released: Jan. 30, 2013

"A brief, bracing, action-packed bio of some memorable badmen."
King recaps the forgotten criminal career of a pack of violent robbers who roamed pre-Jazz Age America, possibly killing more than 20 people. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Andrea Beaty
August 30, 2016

In Andrea Beaty and David Roberts’ new picture book Ada Twist, Scientist is like her classmates, builder Iggy and inventor Rosie: scientist Ada, a character of color, has a boundless imagination and has always been hopelessly curious. Why are there pointy things stuck to a rose? Why are there hairs growing inside your nose? When her house fills with a horrific, toe-curling smell, Ada knows it’s up to her to find the source. Not afraid of failure, she embarks on a fact-finding mission and conducts scientific experiments, all in the name of discovery. But this time, her experiments lead to even more stink and get her into trouble! Inspired by real-life makers such as Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, Ada Twist, Scientist champions girl power and women scientists, and brings welcome diversity to picture books about girls in science. “Cool and stylish,” our reviewer writes. View video >