ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"An extraordinary, nuanced collection by a gifted poet."
Merging geographic precision with detailed lyricism, Berry's collection of poetry spans continents and states of the soul. Read full book review >
THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BESA by Louis Romano
Released: Dec. 23, 2011

"An engrossing, solidly entertaining organized-crime story with a few twists."
In this suspenseful crime novel, tensions rise between the Albanian and Italian mafias on the streets of New York. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: March 2, 2012

"Not for novices, but economically adept readers interested in a comprehensive analysis of what went wrong in the residential real estate market will find a wealth of information and ideas."
First-time author Elgonemy offers an in-depth look at the 2007 housing market collapse and suggests changes to mortgage practices to prevent its recurrence. Read full book review >
DREAM by Mark Atteberry
Released: Dec. 5, 2011

"Despite an implausible climax, Atteberry does justice to the genre in a charmingly played romance with plenty of twists along the way."
A kind-hearted jazz musician meets the love of his life and tries to save her from an abusive husband in this suspenseful romantic thriller. Read full book review >

BY HIS OWN BLOOD by John Montandon
Released: Feb. 27, 2012

"Starts slow but ends as a beautiful, memorable story of one family's love and the tragic death of its patriarch."
Montandon's first novel is a fictionalized account of his family's happy life on their rural west Texas farm before his father's tragic death from AIDS. Read full book review >
TRAVEL UNSCRIPTED by Mark Murphy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 16, 2012

"More memoir than travelogue, Murphy's collection of escapades offers an interesting exposé of an unusual job."
A globetrotting producer chronicles his misadventures while filming unscripted videos from around the world. Read full book review >

"A leering, immature hero mars this well-paced thriller."
In first-time author Dinoto's futuristic thriller, an investigative reporter uncovers a dangerous conspiracy as America reels in the wake of a catastrophic oil shortage. Read full book review >
QUIDAM by David Leitner
Released: June 24, 2011

"Readers' mission, should they choose to accept it, is to wonder what's real and what's braggadocio in this regret-tinged stew of sex, love, murder and espionage."
In Leitner's debut novel, a retired assassin from a shadowy black-ops agency recalls his life, loves, losses and kills as he's dragged back into intrigue and danger. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 19, 2012

"A fast-paced, predictable read that will appeal to readers hoping for a brief escape to sunny Palm Beach."
Brown's debut caper is a tale of insurance fraud gone wrong. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"A well-researched narrative of how the U.S. Capitol became a showcase for the nation's finest neoclassical artwork."
A fictionalized account of how two American sculptors from vastly different backgrounds came to adorn the U.S. Capitol in an era of national strife. Read full book review >
MOON RING by Scott Loye
Released: May 23, 2011

"A well-crafted narrative that combines the intrigue of romantic suspense with elements of the supernatural."
Hope springs eternal when two high school romances, set 40 years apart, intertwine in Loye's supernatural debut novel. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >