Indie Book Reviews (page 651)

CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 2, 2013

"Another victory on the high seas for Roman."
Roman's (Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience: A Captain No Beard Story, 2013) latest adventure about Captain No Beard and his band of plucky pirates tackles the issue of stranger danger. Read full book review >
The First Best Thing by Erin K. Rothman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 2, 2013

"An illustrated story that, despite its brevity, packs an emotional punch."
Debut author and illustrator Rothman tells a story of bullying, adolescent angst and psychological growth. Read full book review >

Ca'd'Zan by Jack Kersh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 2, 2013

"An elegant dream in marvelous prose, fully accessible to general readers, but a perfect fit for fans of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Isabel Allende and Franz Kafka."
A coming-of-age tale about an unusual boy and an extraordinary dog who share the tribulations of a Brazilian plantation's indentured laborers. Read full book review >
If you were me and lived in... France... by Carole P. Roman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 2, 2013

"A book that engagingly helps young Americans see what they share in common with French children."
Roman's (Captain No Beard: Strangers on the High Seas, 2013, etc.) latest children's book offers an introduction to French culture that highlights similarities in the lives of American and French children. Read full book review >
Operation Saladin by Roger Croft
THRILLERS
Released: May 2, 2013

"A web of secrets and betrayal sure to grab spy-novel fans."
A suspenseful, behind-the-scenes look at espionage and politics through the eyes of a British journalist. Read full book review >

Guns for Judea by J.W. Yanowitz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 2, 2013

"A poignant, if sometimes cloying, marriage of wartime fiction and fact."
A debut novel about a boy's all-too-quick passage into manhood during World War I. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: May 2, 2013

"A no-guesswork guide to business strategy and a persuasive thesis on why some organizations are more successful than others."
In their debut, consultants Kennedy and Kennedy attempt to demystify the business strategy process. Read full book review >
FORBIDDEN HARVEST by Peter Rizzolo
THRILLERS
Released: May 2, 2013

"A compelling medical drama, written in taut prose, that addresses with tact, humor, poignancy and sophistication the question of what individuals in desperate circumstances owe to each other."
When the resources of a strained medical system reach critically low levels, one doctor bypasses ethical concerns to act—creating a sophisticated network that saves lives but which also threatens to destroy his career. Read full book review >
Death Without Cause by Pamela Triolo
Released: May 1, 2013

"A mystery that may not fully satisfy genre fans, but Triolo's deft characterizations make her an author to watch."
A cozy debut medical mystery with more heart than guts. Read full book review >
Travels in Elysium by William Azuski
Released: May 1, 2013

"A smart and satisfying archaeological thriller in the vein of Dan Brown."
A Greek archaeological dig holds deep secrets. Read full book review >
American Landscape by Robert M. Tucker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2013

"An ambitious but unevenly executed historical novel."
Tucker, in his debut, offers a detailed novel of 1930s America. Read full book review >
Fifty Shades of Schwarz by Ed Harris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2013

"A fairly amusing, sometimes erotic story of contemporary urban Jewish young womanhood."
In Harris' novel, a young Jewish woman in a dead-end relationship meets a charismatic man who enjoys spanking her. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Brad Parks
author of SAY NOTHING
March 7, 2017

In Brad Parks’ new thriller Say Nothing, judge Scott Sampson doesn’t brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: a prestigious job. A beloved family. On an ordinary Wednesday afternoon, he is about to pick up his six-year-old twins to go swimming when his wife, Alison, texts him that she’ll get the kids from school instead. It’s not until she gets home later that Scott realizes she doesn’t have the children. And she never sent the text. Then the phone rings, and every parent’s most chilling nightmare begins. A man has stolen Sam and Emma. For Scott and Alison, the kidnapper’s call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror; a high-profile trial like none the judge or his wife has ever experienced. Their marriage falters. Suspicions and long-buried jealousies rise to the surface. Fractures appear. Lies are told. “The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over,” our critic writes in a starred review. View video >