BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 9, 2009

"This memoir will have difficulty gaining traction among readers who are not familiar with equine matters."
The recollections of a woman who has devoted her life to breeding horses on a Texas farm. Read full book review >
PYONGYANG'S RECRUIT by Lyman Decker
Released: Dec. 27, 2011

"Decker's first effort is an easy read with a twist ending, but it lacks bite."
When FBI counterintelligence specialist Lane McCormick is awakened in the middle of the night and summoned to investigate the suicide of a CIA agent, he finds himself caught in a maelstrom of espionage, alcoholism and sex. Read full book review >

THE ANCIENT REALM by Sarah Leith Bahn
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 21, 2010

"Bahn presents a straightforward fantasy story plenty capable of engaging young readers, especially those with limited attention spans."
Nature acts as a secret source of magic and mayhem for the young protagonist in Bahn's debut novel. Read full book review >
Released: Feb. 25, 2012

"A spy story that feels wordy but redeems itself with strong characterization and an impressive ear for dialogue."
A mousy scientist's knowledge of nuclear secrets puts her in the middle of a 72-hour game of kill-or-be-killed in Manson's debut thriller. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 26, 2012

"An imaginative, if uneven, journey for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles."
In the first installment of this four book series, Madsen spins a fantastical tale of time travel, talking animals, daring adventures and Pig Latin. Read full book review >

THE GRASSHOPPER KING by David Stanley
Released: Jan. 12, 2012

"A richly rendered coming-of-age novel minus a happy ending."
Stanley's debut novel explores the complex emotional landscape of an abandoned boy and his tenuous relationship with the father he adores. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 23, 2011

"A quest for gold that will take readers on an enlightening tour of the 1870s West."
A father and son try their luck at gold prospecting in Dorris' historical account of mining camps in Idaho Territory. Read full book review >
Released: Oct. 31, 2011

"A wealth of invaluable, road-tested advice for readers seeking to become happier, more self-aware and better equipped to enter into a healthy and enduring relationship."
The authors share what they've learned from 40 years of combined experience as marriage and family therapists in this debut self-help guide to emotional equilibrium. Read full book review >
THE GOLEM OF RABBI LOEW by Johnny Townsend
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 15, 2010

"A strong collection, but its internal conflicts—between sensitive depiction of Jewish intellectual life and raunchy tales of porn—ultimately work at cross-purposes."
A collection of short stories set along the connections of gay life, Jewish life and Mormon life. Read full book review >
FAILING MR. FISHER by James Wintermote
Released: Jan. 19, 2010

"An in-depth, yet underdeveloped, look at the life of an educator struggling against unwilling students and falling standards to teach the best he can."
Based on his experience as an educator and on the anecdotes of colleagues, Wintermote explores the trials and tribulations of the first five years of teaching in his debut novel. Read full book review >
THE DEVIL'S IMPERIUM by Wina K
Released: Jan. 26, 2012

"A whirlwind of religious mythology, violence and melodrama."
In Wina K's debut novel, teens get swept up in the prelude to all-out war between good and evil. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 5, 2012

"Lacks the suspense expected in a murder mystery."
Upon discovery of a flower that makes men fall madly in love, the U.S. government attempts to use its essence for interrogation purposes. But nature fights back. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Vanessa Diffenbaugh
September 1, 2015

Vanessa Diffenbaugh is the New York Timesbestselling author of The Language of Flowers; her new novel, We Never Asked for Wings, is about young love, hard choices, and hope against all odds. For 14 years, Letty Espinosa has worked three jobs around San Francisco to make ends meet while her mother raised her children—Alex, now 15, and Luna, six—in their tiny apartment on a forgotten spit of wetlands near the bay. But now Letty’s parents are returning to Mexico, and Letty must step up and become a mother for the first time in her life. “Diffenbaugh’s latest confirms her gift for creating shrewd, sympathetic charmers,” our reviewer writes. View video >