THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody

THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS

Age Range: 12 - 18
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Eighteen-year-old Ali Collins must reckon with her complicated history with her rolling stone father on an eventful road trip with her ex-boyfriend.

With their house about to be repossessed, curly-haired brunette Ali and her mother have all but given up on being able to stay in their home. While packing up to move, Ali learns that her father has passed away and left his beloved 1968 Firebird convertible as her inheritance. The value of the car shocks her and immediately appears to be the answer to all her problems...that is until she realizes that she must trek hundreds of miles north along the Pacific coast to deliver the car to an eager buyer. The last thing Ali wants to do is to complete the drive with her strikingly handsome, lying ex-boyfriend Nico—but he’s the only person she knows who can drive a stick shift. Ali’s internal and external journeys lead her to come to terms with both her late father and her old flame. This is a solid, highly-consumable coming-of-age story, easily devoured in one sitting and bringing with it all the comforts of a cozy, predictable romance. Brody (The Chaos of Standing Still, 2017, etc.) places the reader in picturesque settings with a cast of familiar characters in this road-trip narrative. Ali and Nico are white.

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman will enjoy this tender story. (Fiction. 12-18)

Pub Date: Oct. 2nd, 2018
ISBN: 978-1-4814-9921-7
Page count: 464pp
Publisher: Simon Pulse/Simon & Schuster
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1st, 2018




SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenTHE DISENCHANTMENTS by Nina LaCour
by Nina LaCour
ChildrenAMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR by Morgan Matson
by Morgan Matson
ChildrenIN HONOR by Jessi Kirby
by Jessi Kirby