Kirkus Reviews QR Code
MOVE OVER, ROVER! by Karen Beaumont Kirkus Star

MOVE OVER, ROVER!

By Karen Beaumont (Author) , Jane Dyer (Illustrator)

Age Range: 3 - 6

Pub Date: Sept. 1st, 2006
ISBN: 0-15-201979-0
Publisher: Harcourt

In this cumulative tale in the tradition of The Mitten and Mushroom in the Rain, a fluffy, friendly dog named Rover makes room in his doghouse for a succession of animals seeking shelter from a thunderstorm. The short, patterned text uses rhyming couplets and a cumulative refrain urging each animal in turn to squeeze into the crowded doghouse. The final arrival—a skunk—disperses the crowd, and Rover returns to his home to enjoy his solitude with all the other animals camouflaged within the surrounding scene in the final spread. Dyer’s watercolors are as charming as always, drawing the reader into the action with varying perspectives to show the expanding group. She uses subtle streaks of gray and white to indicate the driving rain and just a barely opened eye to show that the sleeping animals are aware of each new addition to their refuge. The bouncy rhymes and expressive paintings complement each other well, melding into a simple but satisfying story that will fit into story hours with themes of rain, dogs, or sharing. (Picture book. 3-6)