An ambitious, often exciting thriller that doesn’t quite reach its full potential.

READ REVIEW

THE SHAKER OF WORLDS

In this paranormal fantasy thriller, otherworldly forces battle the CIA and each other for control of a family with extraordinary abilities.

Maggie Stewart and her children, John and Rachael, are on the run from the Gray Department, a mysterious division of the CIA. The Stewarts are “talents,” the products of a government initiative to breed people with telekinetic powers and use them as agents against the Russians and Chinese. It turns out that others are following the Stewarts as well—operatives from an alternative universe called Purgatory. After Gray agents capture John and Rachael, Maggie plots to free them. So does Oliver, a Purgatory “ranger” whose mission is to take the Stewarts back with him, because a prophecy has said they’re needed to fight against the evil forces of Lucifer. Meanwhile, a mentally unstable man, Jurgis Phin, sets out to murder the Stewarts, and Grievely, a CIA infiltrator from Purgatory, is on a mission to turn the children into Lucifer’s agents. But his subordinate, Besque, hates talents and would gladly kill them all. As the various antagonists converge, their battle awakens yet another, ancient force deep under the Earth, which rises to wreak havoc. The suspenseful climax sets the stage for a sequel. Brown creates a complex, multilayered story full of nonstop action, intriguing characters and well-crafted scenes. Unfortunately, the novel is held back by a series of missteps: The prologue and the underground monster seem superfluous, the story’s reliance on Dantean and Miltonian Christian cosmology sometimes stifles its originality, and its numerous references to other books, authors and television programs seem forced. Also, the explanation of how the four universes interrelate isn’t convincing, and the political background of Purgatory lacks detail. At times, the story backtracks to follow different characters through the same time period, which can be confusing.

An ambitious, often exciting thriller that doesn’t quite reach its full potential.

Pub Date: Sept. 3, 2014

ISBN: 978-1500722814

Page Count: 226

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: Sept. 15, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2019

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE WATER DANCER

The celebrated author of Between the World and Me (2015) and We Were Eight Years in Power (2017) merges magic, adventure, and antebellum intrigue in his first novel.

In pre–Civil War Virginia, people who are white, whatever their degree of refinement, are considered “the Quality” while those who are black, whatever their degree of dignity, are regarded as “the Tasked.” Whether such euphemisms for slavery actually existed in the 19th century, they are evocatively deployed in this account of the Underground Railroad and one of its conductors: Hiram Walker, one of the Tasked who’s barely out of his teens when he’s recruited to help guide escapees from bondage in the South to freedom in the North. “Conduction” has more than one meaning for Hiram. It's also the name for a mysterious force that transports certain gifted individuals from one place to another by way of a blue light that lifts and carries them along or across bodies of water. Hiram knows he has this gift after it saves him from drowning in a carriage mishap that kills his master’s oafish son (who’s Hiram’s biological brother). Whatever the source of this power, it galvanizes Hiram to leave behind not only his chains, but also the two Tasked people he loves most: Thena, a truculent older woman who practically raised him as a surrogate mother, and Sophia, a vivacious young friend from childhood whose attempt to accompany Hiram on his escape is thwarted practically at the start when they’re caught and jailed by slave catchers. Hiram directly confronts the most pernicious abuses of slavery before he is once again conducted away from danger and into sanctuary with the Underground, whose members convey him to the freer, if funkier environs of Philadelphia, where he continues to test his power and prepare to return to Virginia to emancipate the women he left behind—and to confront the mysteries of his past. Coates’ imaginative spin on the Underground Railroad’s history is as audacious as Colson Whitehead’s, if less intensely realized. Coates’ narrative flourishes and magic-powered protagonist are reminiscent of his work on Marvel’s Black Panther superhero comic book, but even his most melodramatic effects are deepened by historical facts and contemporary urgency.

An almost-but-not-quite-great slavery novel.

Pub Date: Sept. 24, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-399-59059-7

Page Count: 432

Publisher: One World/Random House

Review Posted Online: July 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more