An absorbing, behind-the-scenes look at the mind and work of a therapist.

READ REVIEW

Sessions: Memoirs of a Psychotherapist

In this novel, a Texas psychologist helps individuals and families in crisis while an IRS audit looms and her own 20-year marriage falters.

Dr. Addy Conrad is a Fort Worth marriage and family therapist in practice for 10 years. She sees patients in her second-floor, tree-surrounded office with the aid of Paula, her office manager, and Dumplin’, her Shih Tzu therapy dog. Her patients include Michael, a handsome sex addict whose arrogance disguises his underlying pain, and the Barnetts, a stressed, dysfunctional family dealing with what turns out to be the mother’s dissociative identity disorder. For her own support, Conrad turns to Dixie, her warm, motherly hairstylist; Dr. Endicott, her graduate school supervisor; and Sebastian Courtney (called Seb), her fashion-challenged friend, therapist colleague, and “intellectual idol.” Addy has three children with her husband, Brad, but he tells her he wants a divorce, saying they’ve grown apart. As if that weren’t enough, a hostile IRS agent examines the Conrad finances with a fine-toothed comb, and a man appears to be watching Addy, perhaps stalking her. It all demands much more than just listening in a chair. “Psychotherapy is a naked event,” says Addy. “The client is stripped, but so is the therapist.” Foster (What Women Want....Really!, 2015, etc.), a psychologist in private practice, opens up the therapist’s vulnerability, an intriguing focus. The author expertly shows the tightrope Conrad must walk to prevent her own reactions from interfering with providing proper care. Michael, for example, awakens sexual attraction, dislike, and fear. Addy must be on her guard and remember that he’s a smooth talker, while still giving him the benefit of the doubt. It’s unfortunate, though, that Foster makes dissociative identity disorder—that Hollywood favorite—a centerpiece. Stirring emotion through this dramatic cliché (and the horrific abuse associated with it) is a little misguided, and fails to effectively represent the usual conditions that bring people into therapy, such as depression, anxiety, and addiction. Addy’s nuanced understanding and compassion provide balance, thankfully.

An absorbing, behind-the-scenes look at the mind and work of a therapist.

Pub Date: Jan. 6, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-4948-8625-7

Page Count: 270

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: June 13, 2016

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

THE 48 LAWS OF POWER

The authors have created a sort of anti-Book of Virtues in this encyclopedic compendium of the ways and means of power.

Everyone wants power and everyone is in a constant duplicitous game to gain more power at the expense of others, according to Greene, a screenwriter and former editor at Esquire (Elffers, a book packager, designed the volume, with its attractive marginalia). We live today as courtiers once did in royal courts: we must appear civil while attempting to crush all those around us. This power game can be played well or poorly, and in these 48 laws culled from the history and wisdom of the world’s greatest power players are the rules that must be followed to win. These laws boil down to being as ruthless, selfish, manipulative, and deceitful as possible. Each law, however, gets its own chapter: “Conceal Your Intentions,” “Always Say Less Than Necessary,” “Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy,” and so on. Each chapter is conveniently broken down into sections on what happened to those who transgressed or observed the particular law, the key elements in this law, and ways to defensively reverse this law when it’s used against you. Quotations in the margins amplify the lesson being taught. While compelling in the way an auto accident might be, the book is simply nonsense. Rules often contradict each other. We are told, for instance, to “be conspicuous at all cost,” then told to “behave like others.” More seriously, Greene never really defines “power,” and he merely asserts, rather than offers evidence for, the Hobbesian world of all against all in which he insists we live. The world may be like this at times, but often it isn’t. To ask why this is so would be a far more useful project.

If the authors are serious, this is a silly, distasteful book. If they are not, it’s a brilliant satire.

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 1998

ISBN: 0-670-88146-5

Page Count: 430

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 1998

Did you like this book?

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

more