A fine collection of vignettes on meditation.

READ REVIEW

Meditationswerve

YOUR VERY OWN JACKASS SWEETHEART MEDITATION COMPANION

Li, in his debut self-help book, aims to convince readers that if he can meditate, anyone can.

Rarely has a subtitle more amusingly and accurately hinted at a book’s contents. The 28-year-old author turned to meditation to help ameliorate his obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, and anxiety without turning to what he calls “lobotomizing” medications. Before and during his practice, he also battled Graves’ disease and lung cancer. Li is the first to point out his own imperfections; he notes that meditation wasn’t always easy for him, but he isn’t sorry that he persisted: “I don’t think there is anything special about me,” he writes. “I just kept believing it was possible.” In a series of passages, vignettes, poems, and blog posts, he shares his thoughts on meditation interspersed with his reminiscences and personal experiences. He also includes quotations from such notables as Friedrich Nietzsche (“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music”) and Cyndi Lauper and manages to find equal profundity in each. His refreshing honesty about his flaws—more than one vignette begins with a mention of a hangover, for example—makes meditation seem attainable by the masses, not just clean-living Zen practitioners. He repeatedly cites playwright Samuel Beckett (“Ever tried, ever failed, no matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better”) while encouraging practitioners to keep trying and to seek inspiration in failures. The chapters aren’t linear but rather follow Li’s stream of consciousness, including the “swerves” that give the book its title. As added bonuses, he includes Zhong’s colorful artwork (including depictions of Buddha statues) for concentration meditation as well as sources for his unique collection of quotes. Whether or not the book is useful to meditation practitioners, general readers will still find many amusing anecdotes and meaningful ideas.

A fine collection of vignettes on meditation.

Pub Date: Feb. 21, 2015

ISBN: 978-1507664520

Page Count: 278

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: May 6, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

OPEN BOOK

The debut memoir from the pop and fashion star.

Early on, Simpson describes the book she didn’t write: “a motivational manual telling you how to live your best life.” Though having committed to the lucrative deal years before, she “walked away,” fearing any sort of self-help advice she might give would be hypocritical. Outwardly, Simpson was at the peak of her success, with her fashion line generating “one billion dollars in annual sales.” However, anxiety was getting the better of her, and she admits she’d become a “feelings addict,” just needing “enough noise to distract me from the pain I’d been avoiding since childhood. The demons of traumatic abuse that refused to let me sleep at night—Tylenol PM at age twelve, red wine and Ambien as a grown, scared woman. Those same demons who perched on my shoulder, and when they saw a man as dark as them, leaned in to my ear to whisper, ‘Just give him your light. See if it saves him…’ ” On Halloween 2017, Simpson hit rock bottom, and, with the intervention of her devoted friends and husband, began to address her addictions and underlying fears. In this readable but overlong narrative, the author traces her childhood as a Baptist preacher’s daughter moving 18 times before she “hit fifth grade,” and follows her remarkable rise to fame as a singer. She reveals the psychological trauma resulting from years of sexual abuse by a family friend, experiences that drew her repeatedly into bad relationships with men, most publicly with ex-husband Nick Lachey. Admitting that she was attracted to the validating power of an audience, Simpson analyzes how her failings and triumphs have enabled her to take control of her life, even as she was hounded by the press and various music and movie executives about her weight. Simpson’s memoir contains plenty of personal and professional moments for fans to savor.

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-289996-5

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Dey Street/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2020

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more