Kirkus Reviews QR Code
CALL DOWN THE HAWK by Maggie Stiefvater Kirkus Star


From the Dreamer Trilogy series, volume 1

by Maggie Stiefvater

Pub Date: Nov. 5th, 2019
ISBN: 978-1-338-18832-5
Publisher: Scholastic

Dreams are reality and the apocalypse is nigh in this spinoff from the Raven Cycle series.

Ronan Lynch can pull objects from his dreams; but as blowback from his powers complicates his life (including his relationship with Adam), Ronan follows cryptic clues from a voice in his dreams to learn the scope of his abilities. Simultaneously, art forger and dreamer Hennessy seeks a solution to a life-threatening hitch in her powers. Ronan’s older brother, Declan, works to keep his siblings safe at the expense of pursuing any passions of his own. Plus, government recruit Carmen Farooq-Lane aims to prevent the apocalypse by hunting down dreamers. This cast of characters, each with their own palpable desires, orbit one another until their paths come crashing together. Mysterious magic and secrets abound. The exquisitely painted characters and artful prose propel the plot, which is filled with satisfying twists and turns. Despite the scope, the narrative stays focused, drawing to a dramatic conclusion. While most rewarding to readers of the original series (though they should prepare for brief-but-necessary pockets of summary throughout), the novel is accessible to new readers, too. Ronan and Declan are white and of Irish descent; Hennessy is dark-skinned and English.


(Fantasy. 13-adult)