Kirkus Reviews QR Code
FOUND by Margaret Peterson Haddix


The Missing: Book 1

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Age Range: 10 - 14

Pub Date: April 22nd, 2008
ISBN: 978-1-4169-5417-0
Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Fans of Haddix’s Shadow Children books will want to jump on this time-travel adventure, which kicks off yet another series. The author grabs readers’ attention from the first scene, in which a planeload of unaccompanied babies lands out of nowhere at an airport. Time passes; two of those babies, Jonah, now 13, and his best friend, Chip, receive similar strange letters of warning. They set out with Jonah’s younger sister, Elizabeth, to find out what’s going on. Mixing in some rather esoteric physics, the narrative plunges the children into a time-travel trap from which there seems to be no escape. This outing merely introduces well-delineated characters and sets up their dilemma, ending with a teaser for the next book in the series. Somewhat slow in this installment, but intriguing enough nonetheless to keep kids reading what promises to be an exciting trip through history. (Fiction. 10-14)